الحل الخاص بي لمشاكل الصحة العقلية المزمنة

11 مايو 2022

تخيل خدمة تلبي احتياجاتنا، حيث كانت صحتنا العقلية لا تقل أهمية، إن لم تكن أكثر أهمية، من صحتنا الجسدية. حيث تكون العلاقة بين العامل والثقة واتساق الرعاية أمرًا أساسيًا لدعم الفرد، ويتم بناء المجتمعات حول القوة والمرونة.

خدمة أفضل، ونحن يستحق

إن الخدمة الأفضل - الخدمة التي نستحقها، ستقدر:

ستبدأ الخدمة المثالية بالوجود متواضع والاعتراف بأنه أمر مخيب للآمال دائمًا وعدم تقديم الرعاية الكافية. من المفيد أيضًا الاستماع إلى التعليقات المستمرة من مستخدمي الخدمة بشأن أجزاء الخدمة التي لا تعمل والتصرف بناءً عليها. يجب أن تجسد رعاية الصحة العقلية المشاركة على جميع المستويات لضمان الاستجابة السريعة للملاحظات وأن المشاريع يتم إنتاجها بشكل مشترك مع الأشخاص الذين سيحضرونها للحصول على المساعدة. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن المجتمع يتغير من حولنا طوال الوقت، ومعه تكون احتياجات الفرد مائعة وليست ثابتة. يمكن أن تبدأ الرعاية الصحية العقلية الملائمة بالتحلي بالمرونة.

كبشر نحن بالفطرة اجتماعيوالعلاقات من حولنا هي المفتاح لرفاهيتنا. لقد لاحظت على سبيل المثال أنه مع تحسن تقديري لذاتي، تتحسن نوعية الأشخاص من حولي، ويعاملونني بشكل أفضل، وبالتالي يغذون تعزيز احترام الذات، وبناء علاقات صحية. يمكن أن تبدأ هذه العملية بأرقام متسقة وصحية. يجب أن يكون العاملون في مجال الدعم كذلك. يجب أن يكونوا موثوقين وشفافين ومهتمين ويركزون على بناء الثقة. علمني كيفية التعامل مع علاقة صحية واحدة وربما أستطيع تطبيق هذا الإطار على علاقاتي الشخصية أيضًا. إن سلاسل العمال المرهقين والمتعبين والذين يتقاضون أجوراً منخفضة والذين يعملون بعقود قصيرة عندما أحتاج إلى رعاية طويلة الأجل لا تساعد على بناء العلاقات. وهذا يؤدي إلى خدمة غير شفافة، وعمال يختفون، وعمال لا يحضرون في المواعيد ويتركونني جالسة تحت المطر وحدي - كل هذا يعزز التجارب السلبية للعلاقات التي تنكسر فيها الثقة. يتبع ذلك الإرهاق المؤسسي، حيث ينكسر الإيمان والأمل في الخدمة التي تعمل بمثابة شريان الحياة لأولئك الذين يعانون من الأزمات. من شأن خدمة الصحة العقلية الممتازة أن تؤدي إلى بناء العلاقات في جوهرها وترى أن بناء الثقة أمر ثمين وحيوي للتعافي.

بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعانون من مشاكل الصحة العقلية، غالبا ما يترتب على ذلك العزلة. على وجه الخصوص، لا يزال الكثير منا يشعر بمخلفات أكثر من عام من عمليات الإغلاق التي عزلتنا عن العالم الخارجي. كان هذا تحديًا بالنسبة للعقول الأقوى والأكثر صحة، وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعانون بالفعل أو المعرضين لمشاكل الصحة العقلية، كان من المروع فقدان شبكات الدعم. إن خدمة الصحة العقلية المثالية الخاصة بي ستكون ذات قيمة بناء المجتمع للتخفيف من تأثير عمليات الإغلاق بسبب فيروس كورونا (كوفيد-19) على الصحة العقلية، وخاصة الشعور بالوحدة. يحرص الناس بشكل عام على دعم بعضهم البعض، ويمكن للمحادثات حول التجارب المشتركة أن تبني التعاطف وتجعل الناس يشعرون بأنهم مرئيون ومسموعون ولا يشعرون أنهم بمفردهم. عندما تكون في أعماق الاكتئاب، يمكن أن يكون بناء الاتصال هذا بمثابة ضوء في نهاية النفق ويوفر طريقًا يمكن لأي شخص أن يثق به ويطلب المساعدة في الأزمات. قد يبدو بناء المجتمع مثل مجموعات البستنة، والرحلات اليومية، والطهي وتناول الوجبات معًا، والأنشطة عبر الإنترنت، ومجموعات التطبيقات. وهذا من شأنه أن يوفر إطارًا للأشخاص الذين انسحبوا اجتماعيًا للحضور وإنشاء علاقات جديدة وإيجابية وتعزيز شبكة الدعم الخاصة بهم.

تغيير الروايات حول الأشخاص الذين لديهم خبرة في الصحة العقلية السيئة - من فضلك توقف عن وصفي بالمكسور والمريض. نحن جميعًا نتمتع بصحة نفسية، وبالتالي نكون عرضة لخطر سوء الصحة العقلية. لدينا جميعًا احتياجات وأتمنى أن يُنظر إليّ كفرد يجب تلبيته، احتياجات فردية محددة، وليست احتياجات عامة. بمجرد أن تصنفني على أنني مكسور، فهذا أمر مهين ويقدم قصة عن كوني شخصًا لن يتحسن أبدًا ويحتاج إلى وصف مقاس واحد يناسب جميع الرعاية.

غالبًا ما يكون طلب المساعدة نقطة تحول في رحلة الصحة العقلية لشخص ما. يتطلب الأمر شجاعة أن تقبل أولاً أنك لست في مكان جيد، ومن ثم تكون لحظة ضعف للتحدث والذهاب إلى الطبيب العام. الخدمات التي تعاني من نقص التمويل تعني أن الإحالات إلى خدمات الصحة العقلية غالبًا ما تؤدي إلى سنة كاملة أوقات الانتظار. اخبار هذا مدمرة للغاية في تلك المرحلة الحاسمة من طلب المساعدة. هذه اللحظة ليست بداية التعافي، هذه اللحظة تأتي بعد فترة طويلة من المرض الشديد، والعمليات الداخلية التي تؤدي إلى أن يتمتع الشخص بالشجاعة ويرى أنه يستحق أن يتحسن، على الرغم من المونولوج الداخلي السيئ الذي يقول خلاف ذلك، هي ثمينة. يمكن أن تؤدي أخبار قوائم الانتظار الطويلة إلى توقف الأشخاص عن العمل، في لحظة تكون فيها هناك حاجة إلى التحقق والطمأنينة.

الخدمة المستلمة هي في كثير من الأحيان توجيهي مثل الجص اللاصق على قطع الورق، ولكن بحلول الوقت الذي يتم فيه تسليمه، غالبًا ما يكون الأشخاص أفضل ولا يحتاجون إلى المساعدة (نأمل) أو أن صحتهم قد تدهورت، وقد لا تنطبق عليهم هذه الخدمة بعد الآن. الخدمات المقدمة صارمة ولا ترى أن الأفراد بحاجة إلى دعم مخصص. لا يوجد شيء أكثر إرهاقًا من الانتظار لمدة عام لمدة 6 أسابيع من العلاج السلوكي المعرفي الذي لا يصل إلى المكان المناسب من حيث المساعدة. من المدمر أن أشعر أنني يجب أن أكون ممتنًا للخدمة التي أحصل عليها مجانًا والتي لا تفعل شيئًا لمعالجة الصدمة في الماضي وتجعلني أشعر بالذنب تجاه السلوك الذي أبديه. من فضلك احتفظ بمقاسك الواحد الذي يناسب الجميع CBT وتوقف عن الاتصال بي مكسورًا.

أعطني وكالة بدلاً من. إن المساحة والخيار لاتخاذ خيارات إيجابية بشأن مستقبلي، مهما كانت صغيرة، من شأنه أن يضعني في مقعد القيادة لسرد حياتي، ويساعدني في تشكيل مستقبلي حول قيمي الخاصة. ادعمني لكي أستغل نقاط قوتي وأجسد أفضل رؤية لنفسي. إن وجود احتياجات معقدة تتعلق بالصحة العقلية يعني أنني يجب أن أكون ثاقبًا ومتفهمًا لنفسي. تصبح هذه قوة عظمى عندما أبدأ في تعلم كيفية استعادة نفسي عندما أبدأ في الشعور بالإعياء. أعرف ما هو أفضل ما يجعلني أفضل من الخدمة التي تصف لي حلاً واحدًا يناسب الجميع.

الخيارات والاختيار مهمة جدًا. أحتاج إلى أن أشارك بنشاط في تعافيي، حتى أنه عندما يتم تسريحي من الخدمة، أعرف الأشياء التي يجب أن أفعلها لأجعل نفسي أشعر بالتحسن - فالوكالة هي طريق لي لأكون مستقلاً في إنشاء نظام دعم في حياتي فيما بعد. ما هي خدمات الصحة العقلية التي يمكن أن تقدمها لي؟

تساوي الاستثمار في خدمة صحة نفسية مثالية لأن المجتمع يسير بشكل أكثر سلاسة حيث يصبح الناس أكثر صحة واستقرارًا. يؤدي هذا إلى مساهمات إيجابية لمجتمعنا ويترتب على ذلك زخم جماعي لتحسين الصحة العقلية العامة، وسيكون التأثير المجتمعي أكبر من مجموع تحسن الحالة الذهنية للفرد.

 

مايسي إيفانز

متدرب في مجال جمع التبرعات وإشراك الشباب

في اخبار اخرى...
  • 7 يونيو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع التطوع (3-9 يونيو 2024) جلسنا مع جميليا وجولي أثناء مشاركتهما رحلتهما في برنامج التوجيه المجتمعي التطوعي لعام 1625. شاهد أدناه: هل يمكنك أن تكون مرشدًا لشاب؟ تحقق من فرص التطوع والتوجيه لدينا هنا.

  • 21 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بشهر التوعية بالصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع Megs، مدير تطوير الأعمال في خدمة تعليم الشباب (YES) لدينا. خلال محادثتنا، استكشفنا شغف ميج لدعم الشباب ورؤيتها حول الدور الحاسم للتعليم في دعم الصحة العقلية […]

  • 14 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع الصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع قائد فريق Reboot West. تحدثنا عن سبب اتخاذهم لمسار حياتهم المهنية، وما يستمتعون به في العمل مع الشباب وأفكارهم حول تحديات الصحة العقلية بين الشباب الذين يواجهون […]

  • 5 مارس 2024

    يجتمع مجلس مدينة بريستول وجمعية الشباب الخيرية للتشرد 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) معًا لإنشاء المزيد من المنازل الجديدة للشباب في المدينة. تم تصميم المجلس بالاشتراك مع الشباب، ويتعاون المجلس و1625 لإنشاء 8-10 منازل جديدة بأسعار معقولة للشباب المستعدين للعيش بشكل مستقل. المنازل الجديدة هي [...]

My solution to chronic mental health disservice

11th May 2022

Imagine a service that met our needs, where our mental health was as important, if not more important, than our physical health. Where the relationship of the worker and trust and consistency of care is central to supporting an individual, and communities are built around strength and resilience.

Better service, that we deserve

A better service – one that we deserve, would value:

A perfect service would start by being humble and recognizing that it is perpetually disappointing and not providing adequate care. Listening and acting on the constant feedback from the service users on parts of the service that are not working would also help. Mental health care should embody participation at all levels to ensure that feedback is acted upon swiftly and that projects are co-produced with the very people that will be attending them for help. It needs to be noted that society is changing around us all the time, and with it the needs of the individual are fluid and not static. Adequate mental health care could start by being flexible.

As humans we are innately social, and the relationships around us are key to our wellbeing. I for one notice that as my self-worth improves, the quality of the people around me improve, and they treat me better, hence feeding into further boosted self-esteem, and healthy relationships build. This process can be started with consistent, healthy figures. Support workers should be just that. They should be reliable, transparent, caring and focus on building trust. Teach me how to navigate one healthy relationship and maybe I can apply that framework to my personal relationships too. Strings of overworked, tired, underpaid workers that are on short contracts when I need long term care is not conducive to relationship building. This leads to a service that is not transparent, workers that disappear, workers that do not turn up to appointments and leave me sat in the rain on my own – all of this reinforces negative experiences of relationships where trust is broken. Institution fatigue follows, where faith and hope in a service that acts as a lifeline for those in crisis, is broken. A stellar mental health service would bring relationship building to the core and see trust building as precious and vital for recovery.

For those with mental health problems isolation often ensues. In particular many of us still feel the hangover of over a year of lockdowns that cut us off from the outside world. This was challenging for the strongest, healthiest minds, and to those already struggling or vulnerable to mental health problems it was harrowing to lose support networks. My ideal mental health service would value community building to mitigate against the impact of COVID-19 lockdowns on mental health, specifically loneliness. People generally are keen to support each-other, and conversations around shared experiences can build empathy and make people feel seen and heard and not feel like they are on their own. When in the depths of depression, this building of connection can be a light at the end of the tunnel and provide a route to which someone can trust and ask for help in crisis. Community building would look like gardening groups, day trips, cooking and eating meals together, online activities, what’s-app groups. This would provide a framework for people who have withdrawn socially to attend and create new, positive relationships, and strengthen their support network.

Changing narratives around people who have experience of poor mental health – please stop calling me broken and ill. We all have mental health, and hence are vulnerable to the risk of poor mental health. We all have needs and I wish I could be seen as an individual that has needs to be met, individual specific needs, not generic needs. As soon as you label me as broken it is degrading and introduces a narrative of me being someone that will never get better and need to be prescribed a one size fits all care.

Asking for help is often a turning point in someone’s mental health journey. It takes courage to firstly accept that you are not in a good place, and then it is a vulnerable moment to speak up and go to the GP. Underfunded services mean that referrals to mental health services often lead to year-long waiting times. The news of this is so devastating at that crucial point of asking for help. This moment is not the start of recovery, this moment comes after a long time of being very ill, and the internal processes that lead to someone having the courage and seeing that they are worthy of getting better, despite a nasty internal monologue saying otherwise, are precious. The news of long waiting lists can lead to people shutting down, in a moment when validation and reassurance is needed.

The service received is then often prescriptive like a sticking plaster on a paper cut, but by the time it is delivered people are often better and not needing the help (hopefully) or their health has deteriorated, and that service may no longer apply to them. The services offered are rigid and do not see that individuals need tailored support. There is nothing more deflating than to wait a year for 6 weeks of CBT that doesn’t hit the spot in terms of helping. It is damaging to feel like I should be grateful for a service I get for free that does nothing to address the trauma in my past and makes me feel guilty for the behaviour I exhibit. Please keep your one size fits all CBT and stop calling me broken.

Give me agency instead. The space and option to make positive choices about my future, as small as they may be, would put me in the driving seat of the narrative of my life, and help me shape my future around my own values. Support me to play to my own strengths and to embody the best vision of myself that I can be. Having complex mental health needs means I have to be insightful and understanding to myself. This becomes a superpower when I start to learn how bring myself back when I start to get unwell. I know what works best to make me well better than a service that prescribes me a one size fits all solution will.

Options and choice are so important. I need to be actively engaged in my own recovery so that when I am discharged from the service I know the things I need to do to make myself feel better – agency is a pathway to me being independent in creating a support system in my life beyond what mental health services could ever offer me.

It is worth investing in an ideal mental health service because society runs smoother as people become healthier and more stable. This leads to positive contributions to our community and a collective momentum of better public mental health ensues, and societal impact greater that would be greater than the sum of one individual state of mind improving.

 

Maisie Evans

Fundraising and Youth Engagement Trainee

In other news...
  • > 16th June 2022

    Do you want to shape young people’s future? 1625 Independent People is the South West’s leading youth homelessness charity with a national reputation for establishing best practice, involving young people and ensuring strong partnership working. This is a unique time for the charity as we are investing in three new management roles to lead our […]

  • 30th March 2022

    From April 2022, young people will be provided supported housing at Charles England House, through a partnership between 1625 Independent People (1625ip), Bromford House, and South Glos Council. 1625ip have been providing specialist services for young homeless people, care leavers and teenage parents in South Gloucestershire for 27 years. ‘Having worked alongside colleagues at Charles […]

  • 28th February 2022

    We are committed to creating a more diverse Board that represents the young people we serve and particularly welcome applicants from groups where representation is lower, this currently would include Black, Asian, Muslim, LGBTQ+ and disabled applicants. Please find full details of how to apply here. The deadline for application submissions is 23:59, 10 April […]

  • 17th February 2022

    1625 Independent People is excited to be one of seven trusted organisations collaborating to offer Gloucestershire Mentoring Programme, a new early intervention support service.  This Programme is for girls and young women in Gloucestershire and South Gloucestershire – specifically, those at risk of becoming linked to criminal activity, either directly or indirectly, though they might […]