A banner containing the words volunteer spotlight on a blue background with a photo of Pete.

志愿者风采 - Pete Fox

第 16 届 11 月 2023

在我们最新的志愿者聚焦博客中,阅读皮特从退休护士到我们南格洛斯团队的志愿者导师的心路历程。了解他如何克服困难,在指导年轻人的生活中找到成就感。

是什么吸引您成为一名志愿导师?  

从十八岁到现在六十五岁,我光荣地成为了一名国家注册护士,退休这个词我不想用。相反,我更愿意把这段时期称为我人生的第九章。自从我退休以来,就在 Covid 之前,除了每天例行公事地学习如何以不同的方式生活,聆听五点钟的 Covid 简报,以及在阳光明媚的日子里散步,聆听我们道路上的寂静之外,我很方便地什么也没做。

就在 2019 年第九章(我退休)之前,一位前经理辛迪向我介绍了 "休耕田原则",她分享了北美的 "休耕田 "原则,即让前几年的庄稼休耕和恢复。我也许还能想到其他的比喻,但辛迪说 "什么也没种,什么也没期待,但她父母的'休耕地'在下雨后总会长出一些东西 "这句话引起了我的共鸣。辛迪在英国的第一个家是一个带阳台的公寓,她也在那里留下了一盆 "休耕 "的土壤,什么也没种,但总能长出一些东西,有一年长出了一株 "美丽的多年生植物"。在接下来的一年里,我兴奋地看着我的 "休耕田",对未来签约工作的任何渴望都被志愿服务所取代,而当我在 2021 年意外发现《1625》时,我的兴奋之情与日俱增。

通过阅读文献,1625 觉得自己是成为一名志愿者的最佳选择。

幸运的是,我的童年并不艰苦,我们的两个儿子也是如此。不过,我的长子在童年时经历了严重的学习困难。他获得了硕士学位,现在是一所中学的特殊教育需求助理协调员和安全保障负责人,负责照顾在学习和社交方面有各种困难的青少年。即使隔了一代人,这也没有成为指导我们的孩子或 1625 名年轻人的障碍。

在完成推荐信和 DBS 审核后,2022 年初,1625 的莎拉开始了在线导师培训。莎拉是一位经验丰富、热情洋溢、知识渊博的主持人,也是南格洛斯特郡 1625 团队的成员。指导年轻人的原则与倾听和支持护士完成培训类似。不过,对于 1625 来说,指导生活起点如此具有挑战性的年轻人还需要专门的学习。在我的工作生活中,我以为我经历过大多数事情,但莎拉介绍的案例研究让我了解到更多关于一些年轻人所经历的充满挑战的生活。

经过三次培训后,莎拉建议我担任她的导师。我见到了那个年轻人,她出乎意料地带着男朋友来见我和莎拉。我们围坐在一张桌子旁喝茶、吃蛋糕,然后莎拉和她的男朋友一起散步,我和被指导者一起。这不是预想中的开始。我记得莎拉在培训中强调过,准时到达有多么重要,因为一般年轻人从未体验过成年人因为想见他们,而不是因为收了钱才想见他们的承诺。往返路程超过一个小时,在接下来的三节课上,我都是在约定的时间准时到场,但再也没有见到过我的学员。我每次到达后都会发短信,但从未收到回复,我的第一次导师经历就这样结束了。

莎拉开始了新的工作,马克斯被任命为主角。下一个被推荐的人与我见了两次面,感觉我们已经开始建立联系,但由于种种原因,他又不想继续下去了,我们再也没有见过面。作为 1625 导师,这对我来说是一个充满挑战的开始,与指导护士学生完全不同。

挑战不在于年轻人,而在于如何管理和理解自己的排斥感,这是我一生中几乎没有经历过的。

我最近指导的一位年轻人与我相处得非常好,我们已经见了九次面。我们通过短信进行了很好的沟通,我们在同一个地方见面,每次我们都很准时,我听了一个多小时,并进行了反思。他们想成为一名救护员,所以我们想通过我的一个联系人去参观一个救护站。他一直想去野生动物园,所以我们目前正在努力实现这两个愿望。

您能成为年轻人的导师吗?点击这里查看我们的志愿服务和指导机会。

在其他新闻中...
  • 2024年5月21日

    为了庆祝心理健康宣传月和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了我们的青年教育服务 (YES) 业务发展经理 Megs。在谈话中,我们探讨了 Meg 对支持年轻人的热情,以及她对教育在支持年轻人心理健康方面的关键作用的见解 […]

  • 2024年5月14日

    为了庆祝心理健康周和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了 Reboot West 的团队负责人。我们谈到了他们选择职业道路的原因、他们喜欢与年轻人一起工作的原因以及他们对面临心理健康挑战的年轻人的看法 […]

  • 第 5 次 3 月 2024

    布里斯托尔市政府和青年无家可归者慈善机构 1625 独立人士(1625)将携手为该市的年轻人建造更多新家园。理事会和 1625 将与年轻人共同设计,为准备独立生活的年轻人新建 8-10 处经济适用房。这些新住宅是[...]

  • 1st 3 月 2024

    在1625,我们满怀激情地致力于促进同事的成长和发展,使他们能够在职业生涯中脱颖而出。在我们最新一期的 "职业发展故事 "中,我们将介绍汉娜-格林(Building Futures Team Leader)的职业发展历程。"当我第一次申请 1625 的产假代班职位时,我认为这是一个 [...] 的机会。

A banner containing the words volunteer spotlight on a blue background with a photo of Pete.

VOLUNTEER SPOTLIGHT – Pete Fox

16th November 2023

Read about Pete’s journey from retired nurse to volunteer mentor for our Sout Glos team in our latest Volunteer Spotlight Blog. Discover how he overcame challenges and found fulfillment in mentoring young lives.

What drew you to become a volunteer mentor?  

Having proudly been a State Registered Nurse from age eighteen and now sixty-five, retirement is a word I choose not to use. Instead, I prefer to call this period in my life chapter nine. Since I retired, just before Covid, I conveniently did nothing other than the daily routine of learning how to live differently, listening to the five o’clock Covid briefings and going for walks on sunny days, listening to the silence on our roads.

Just before chapter nine (my retirement) in 2019 I was introduced to the ‘fallow-field principle’ by Cindi, a former manager who shared her North American principle of the  ‘fallow field’, a field left to rest and recover from producing crops from the previous years. There may be other metaphors that come to mind, but what resonated for me is when Cindi said “Having planted nothing, nothing is expected, but something always grew in her parents’ ‘fallow field’ after it rained”. Cindi’s first home in the UK was a flat with a balcony, where she also left a ‘fallow’ pot of soil, and planted nothing, but something always grew, one year a “beautiful perennial”. Over the next year, I excitedly watched my ‘fallow field’, having expected nothing volunteering emerging over any desire for future contracted employment, which grew into feeling excited when I discovered 1625 by accident in 2021.

From reading the literature, 1625 felt the right charity to become a volunteer with.

Fortunately, I never faced a tough childhood, nor did our two boys. However, my eldest son experienced a significant childhood learning difficulty. He achieved a Masters degree and is now an Assistant Special Education Needs Coordinator and Safeguarding lead in a Secondary school, where he cares for young people with a range of learning and social challenges. Even a generation apart it’s not been a barrier to mentoring our children or the 1625 young people.

With references and DBS clearance sorted, online mentor training with Sarah from 1625 started in early 2022, a very experienced, enthusiastic and highly knowledgeable facilitator and member of the South Gloucestershire 1625 team. The principle of mentoring young people was similar to listening and supporting nurses through their training. Still, with 1625 there was specific learning required to mentor young people with such challenging starts in life. From my work life, I thought I had experienced most things, but the case studies Sarah presented taught me so much more about the challenging lives some young people are experiencing.

After three training sessions, Sarah suggested she thought I could mentor. I met the young person who unexpectedly brought her boyfriend with her for Sarah and me to meet. We sat around a table drinking tea, and eating cake, followed by Sarah walking with the boyfriend and me with the mentee. Not the start anticipated. I remember Sarah stressing in the training, how important it is to reliably turn up on time as commonly young people have never experienced the commitment of an adult wanting to meet them, because they want to meet them, not because they are being paid to meet them. The round journey was over an hour, and for the next three sessions, I turned up on the day time agreed, never to see my mentee again. I would always text when I arrived but never received a reply, so my first experience as a mentor ended.

Sarah moved on to something new with Max being appointed to the lead role. The next referral that was suggested met with me twice and it felt like we had created the beginnings of a bond, but again he didn’t wish to continue due to a number of factors and we never met again. This was a challenging start for me as a 1625 mentor, totally different from mentoring student nurses.

The challenge was not with the young people, the challenge was in managing and understanding the feeling of rejection in myself, something I have hardly experienced before in my life.

The latest young person I have mentored has engaged really well and we have met nine times. Communication via text is excellent, we meet in the same place, we’re both on time every time and I listen and reflect back for over an hour. They are thinking of being a paramedic, so we are looking to visit an Ambulance Station through a contact I have. He’s always wanted to go to a Safari Park, so we are presently working on achieving both.

Could you be a mentor to a young person? Check out our volunteering and mentoring opportunities here.

In other news...
  • 21st May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for […]

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]