تعرف على قائد فريق Reboot West

14 مايو 2024

احتفالا ب أسبوع الصحة النفسية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع قائد الفريق لـ إعادة تشغيل الغرب. تحدثنا عن سبب اتخاذهم لمسار حياتهم المهنية، وما يستمتعون به في العمل مع الشباب وأفكارهم حول تحديات الصحة العقلية بين الشباب الذين يواجهون التشرد أو ترك الرعاية.

ولأسباب تتعلق بالخصوصية، فضلوا عدم الكشف عن هويتهم.

يرجى تقديم نفسك وإخبارنا عن دورك كقائد فريق في Reboot West.

"في Reboot West، نحن ندعم الشباب ذوي الخبرة في نظام الرعاية برفاهيتهم بينما نساعدهم في الوصول إلى فرص التعليم والتوظيف الهادفة. نحن نقدم دعمًا طويل الأمد بنسبة 1:1 مستنيرًا بنموذج الشباب للعلاج بالقبول والالتزام، DNA-V. لقد جاء إلينا العديد من شبابنا خلال ظروف صعبة للغاية، ويظهرون الشجاعة والقوة والفكاهة كل يوم.

كقائد فريق، لدي دور مختلط في مشروع دراسة الحالة مع الشباب وإدارة فريق من المدربين. أحب هذا لأنه يعني أنني سأتمكن من العمل مع زملائي على تطوير الممارسات مع الاستمتاع في الوقت نفسه بالمتعة والتنوع في العمل مباشرة مع الشباب.

 

ما الذي ألهمك لممارسة مهنة في هذا المجال، والعمل مع الشباب الذين يواجهون تحديات مثل التشرد أو ترك الرعاية؟

"تعتبر الفترة من 16 إلى 25 عامًا جزءًا تكوينيًا ومثيرًا في حياة أي شاب، حيث يكون للخيارات التي يتخذونها القدرة على إثرائها واستدامتها خلال مرحلة البلوغ. إنها فئتي العمرية المفضلة للعمل معها، حيث يكتشف الشباب الكثير من الأشياء الجديدة ولديهم شغف كبير! أنا أؤمن بمسؤولية المجتمع في توفير الفرص لكل شاب، وخاصة أولئك الذين واجهوا وما زالوا يواجهون التحديات.

 

ما هو الشيء المفضل لديك في العمل لدى Reboot West ومع الشباب؟

"من الصعب وصفه دون أن يبدو مبتذلاً! شبابنا مدهشون ومضحكون ومدهشون حقًا، وإنه لمن دواعي سروري أن آتي إلى العمل ورؤيتهم كل يوم. قد تكون الظروف في حياة شبابنا في بعض الأحيان صعبة بشكل لا يصدق، وأنا فخور بتقديم الدعم لهم خلال الأوقات الصعبة والاحتفال معهم في الأيام الجيدة.

أنا محظوظ أيضًا بوجود فريق من الزملاء يتمتع بالمهارة والحماس والداعم.

 

ما سبب أهمية دعم الصحة العقلية للشباب، وخاصة أولئك الذين يواجهون التشرد أو ترك الرعاية؟

"يمكن أن يكون تأثير تجارب التشرد أو نظام الرعاية عميقًا، وقد تكون هناك حاجة إلى دعم إضافي لمساعدة الشباب على إعادة البناء من الصدمات التي تعرضوا لها في وقت مبكر من حياتهم. يمكن أن يؤدي الحصول على دعم الصحة العقلية المناسب إلى تغيير الحياة، ويسمح للناس بالعيش بفرح وكرامة. تعاني خدمات الدعم من نقص الموارد وتكافح من أجل تلبية الاحتياجات الحالية بطريقة مدروسة بشأن الصدمات. يجب أن يكون هناك دعم أكثر شمولاً ومرونة في مجال الصحة العقلية يتمحور حول الشخص، ويكون متاحًا لأي شخص يحتاج إليه.

 

بالنسبة لأولئك الذين قد لا يعرفون، هل يمكنك شرح ما هو DNA-V وكيف يساهم في دعم الصحة العقلية للشباب؟

"DNA-V هو نموذج للعلاج بالقبول والالتزام مصمم للعمل مع الشباب في المجتمع. ويركز على مساعدة الناس على تطوير الوعي بالأشياء الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة لهم في حياتهم، فضلا عن المهارات اللازمة للتحرك نحو هذه القيم. إنه نموذج تجريبي نتعلمه باستخدام أنفسنا، وهو مضمن في كل منطقة من مشروع Reboot. وبالإضافة إلى عملنا مع الشباب، فإننا نستخدمه في عمليات الإشراف ومساحات الزملاء الجماعية لإرشاد ممارساتنا بشكل أفضل.

 

ما هي أهم القيم بالنسبة لك؟

الثقة والفكاهة والفضول

 

هل يمكنك مشاركة مثال محدد لكيفية تأثير DNA-V بشكل إيجابي على الصحة العقلية لشاب تعمل معه؟

"أحد أفضل الأشياء في DNA-V هو مدى سهولة الوصول إليه - فهو نهج بسيط يمكن للشباب التواصل معه في أي مرحلة هم فيها في حياتهم.

عملت مع أحد الشباب مع DNA-V كوسيلة لتعلم ممارسة التعاطف مع الذات والصبر أثناء عمله على بناء ثقته في العمل. في السابق، كان يضع أهدافًا بعيدة المنال ثم يوبخ نفسه عندما لا يتمكن من تحقيقها. ومن خلال تطوير مهاراته في DNA-V، كان قادرًا على التعرف على كل إجراء قام به كفرصة للتحرك نحو قيمه. وفي نهاية المطاف، تحول من كونه عاطلاً عن العمل وغير قادر على مغادرة المنزل إلى الحصول على وظيفة بدوام جزئي بنجاح. كما التحق بدورة تدريبية في مجال ريادة الأعمال ويأمل أن يبدأ مشروعه الخاص يومًا ما. كما قدم DNA-V اللبنات الأساسية في التثقيف النفسي التي مكنته من الشعور بالاستعداد للدخول في علاج طويل الأمد، والذي كان له تأثير إيجابي كبير.

 

بصرف النظر عن DNA-V، ما هي بعض الطرق الأخرى التي يدعم بها برنامج Reboot West/1625 الشباب في صحتهم العقلية؟

"كخدمة قائمة على العلاقات، نحن قادرون على تقديم دعم متسق للشباب من نفس العامل الرئيسي على مدار فترة وجودهم في المشروع. وهذا يوفر الثقة والاتساق، وهو ما يسهم بشكل كبير في تحقيق صحة نفسية جيدة. نحن قادرون أيضًا على تصميم خدماتنا لمقابلة الشباب حيث يرغبون في تركيز الدعم - يمكننا أن نجتمع بمرونة في المجتمع في المواقع التي يشعرون فيها بالراحة، ومساعدتهم على بناء الثقة تدريجيًا حتى يشعرون بأنهم مستعدون لاتخاذ خطوة. في اتجاه EET."

 

من خلال تجربتك، ما هي بعض أكبر تحديات الصحة العقلية التي يواجهها الشباب الذين لا مأوى لهم أو الذين يتركون الرعاية؟

الصدمة والعزلة.

 

هل لديك أي نصائح لإدارة الصحة العقلية؟

خذ الوقت الذي تحتاجه للعثور على ما هو مهم والتركيز على إجراء التغييرات الممكنة، حتى لو كانت صغيرة. اطلب الدعم من الأشخاص الموثوق بهم.

 

ادعم حملة جمع التبرعات Kind2Mind التابعة لمنظمة Big Give

يمكنك المساعدة في دعم الصحة العقلية للشباب المشردين والمعرضين لخطر التشرد وترك الرعاية من خلال التبرع لحملة Kind2Mind التابعة لـ Big Give. بدءًا من الساعة 12 ظهرًا في 14 مايو والساعة 12 ظهرًا في 28 مايو 2024، يطابق برنامج Big Give تبرعاتك، حيث تصبح 10 جنيهات إسترلينية 20 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا، ويتحول 50 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا إلى 100 جنيه إسترليني، وهكذا. مضاعفة لطفك هنا.

في اخبار اخرى...
  • 12 يوليو 2024

    أعضاء مجلس الإدارة التطوعيون / بدون أجر بريستول يتم عقد حوالي خمسة اجتماعات لمجلس الإدارة سنويًا، معظمها شخصيًا وعادة في المساء (6.30 مساءً - 9 مساءً) في 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) عملنا مع الشباب في الجنوب الغربي لأكثر من 40 عامًا سنين. نحن خبراء حائزون على جوائز في تقديم الخدمات للشباب الذين [...]

  • 7 يونيو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع التطوع (3-9 يونيو 2024) جلسنا مع جميليا وجولي أثناء مشاركتهما رحلتهما في برنامج التوجيه المجتمعي التطوعي لعام 1625. شاهد أدناه: هل يمكنك أن تكون مرشدًا لشاب؟ تحقق من فرص التطوع والتوجيه لدينا هنا.

  • 21 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بشهر التوعية بالصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع Megs، مدير تطوير الأعمال في خدمة تعليم الشباب (YES) لدينا. خلال محادثتنا، استكشفنا شغف ميج لدعم الشباب ورؤيتها حول الدور الحاسم للتعليم في دعم الصحة العقلية […]

  • 5 مارس 2024

    يجتمع مجلس مدينة بريستول وجمعية الشباب الخيرية للتشرد 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) معًا لإنشاء المزيد من المنازل الجديدة للشباب في المدينة. تم تصميم المجلس بالاشتراك مع الشباب، ويتعاون المجلس و1625 لإنشاء 8-10 منازل جديدة بأسعار معقولة للشباب المستعدين للعيش بشكل مستقل. المنازل الجديدة هي [...]

Meet Our Reboot West Team Leader

14th May 2024

In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing homelessness or leaving care.

For privacy reasons, they preferred to remain anonymous.

Please introduce yourself and tell us about your role as Team Leader at Reboot West.

“At Reboot West, we support young people with experience of the care system with their wellbeing while helping them to access meaningful education and employment opportunities. We provide long-term, 1:1 support informed by the youth model of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy, DNA-V. Many of our young people have come to us through incredibly challenging circumstances, and demonstrate courage, strength, and humour every day.

As a team leader, I have a blended role on the project of casework with young people and managing a team of coaches. I love this as it means I get to work with my colleagues on developing practice while still having the fun and variety of working directly with young people.”

 

What inspired you to pursue a career in this field, working with young people facing challenges such as homelessness or leaving care?

“16 to 25 is a formative and exciting part of any young person’s life, when the choices that they make have the potential to enrich and sustain them through adulthood. It’s my favourite age group to work with, as young people are discovering so many new things and are passionate about so much! I believe in society’s responsibility to provide opportunities to every young person, especially those who have faced and continue to face challenges.”

 

What is your favourite thing about working for Reboot West and with young people?

“It’s hard to describe without sounding clichéd! Our young people really are amazing, funny, and surprising, and it’s a genuine pleasure to come to work and see them every day. Circumstances in our young people’s lives can sometimes be unbelievably challenging, and I’m proud both to offer support to them through the difficult times and to celebrate with them on good days.

I am also lucky to have a team of colleagues is skilled, enthusiastic, and supportive.”

 

Why is mental health support so important for young people, especially those facing homelessness or leaving care?

“The impact of the experiences of homelessness or the care system can be profound, and extra support can be needed to help young people rebuild from traumas experienced early in their lives. Access to the right mental health support can be life-changing, and allow people to live with joy and dignity. Support services are under-resourced and struggling to meet the current need in a trauma-informed way. There needs to be more comprehensive and flexible person-centred mental health support available to anyone who needs it.”

 

For those who might not know, can you explain what DNA-V is and how it contributes to mental health support for young people?

“DNA-V is a model of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy that is designed for work with young people in the community. It is focused on helping people develop awareness of the things most important to them in their lives, as well as skills to move towards these values. It’s an experiential model that we learn by using ourselves, and is embedded through every area of the Reboot project. As well as our work with young people, we use it in supervisions and group colleague spaces to better inform our practice.”

 

What are the most important values to you?

Trust, humour, and curiosity

 

Could you share a specific example of how DNA-V has positively impacted the mental well-being of a young person you work with?

“One of the best things about DNA-V is how accessible it is – it’s a simple approach that young people can connect with at whatever stage they are at in their own lives.

One young person I worked with DNA-V as a way to learn to exercise self-compassion and patience as he worked on building his confidence towards employment. Previously, he would set unattainable goals and then berate himself when he wasn’t able to meet them. By developing his skills in DNA-V, he was able to recognise each action he took as an opportunity to move towards his values. Eventually, he went from being unemployed and unable to leave the house to successfully landing a part-time job. He also enrolled on an entrepreneurship course and is hoping to start his own business one day. DNA-V also provided the building blocks in psychoeducation that enabled him to feel ready to enter long-term therapy, which has had a huge positive impact.”

 

Apart from DNA-V, what are some other ways Reboot West/1625 supports young people with their mental health?

“As a relationship-based service, we are able to offer young people consistent support from the same keyworker over the course of their time in the project. This offers trust and consistency, which is a big contributor towards good mental health. We are also able to tailor our service to meet the young person where they would like to focus the support – we can meet flexibly in the community at locations where they feel comfortable, and help them build confidence gradually until they feel ready to take a step in the direction of EET.”

 

In your experience, what are some of the biggest mental health challenges young people who are homeless or leaving care often encounter?

Trauma and isolation.

 

Do you have any tips for managing mental health?

Take the time you need to find what’s important and focus on making changes that are possible, even if they’re tiny. Seek support from trusted people.

 

Support the Big Give’s Kind2Mind Fundraising Campaign

You can help support the mental health of young people who are homeless, at risk of homelessness and leaving care by donating to Big Give’s Kind2Mind campaign. From 12pm on the 14th of May and 12pm on the 28th of May 2024, Big Give is matching your donations, your £10 becomes £20, £50 turns into £100 and so on. Double your kindness here.

In other news...
  • 21st May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]

  • 26th February 2024

    Confidence – Skills – Fulfilling lives “I have goals and ambitions – I actually feel like I can do it now” “The support I have received has been more than just a step to a career path. My work with my Reboot West Coach has been substantial to me understanding that I am capable and […]