bristol

ماذا ستفعل لو رأيت طفلاً في الشارع؟

14 نوفمبر 2019

كيف يغير حدث ما حياة الشباب والمشردين

 

من الواضح جدًا عندما تنظر إلى الطفل، مدى هشاشته، ضعفه، والحاجة إلى حمايته ورعايته واضحة ليراها الجميع. وفي غمضة عين تتغير أجسادهم وتمتد وتصل إلى مرحلة البلوغ. وفجأة أصبحوا يبدون "بالغين" جدًا.
 
لكنهم ليسوا كذلك وما زالوا يضمنون نفس الحق في الحماية والترقية والتحقق من الصحة. مؤسسة خيرية، 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625ip)، تعمل مع الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 و25 عامًا، والمشردين والمهمشين والمحرومين. إنهم يدعون الناس إلى إدراك مدى ضعف هؤلاء الشباب، وكيف أن الشيء العادل هو أن يتم دعمهم وجذبهم وإدماجهم. ففي نهاية المطاف، هم مستقبلنا، كما نحن مستقبلهم. 
 
في مساء الخميس، 14 نوفمبر 2019، استضافت 1625ip حفل Sleep Out على مستوى الجنوب الغربي حيث اجتمع 200 شخص معًا وناموا في البرد لجمع الأموال والوعي لهؤلاء الشباب. 16-25 سنة هي الفئة العمرية الأكثر وحدة (استطلاع راديو بي بي سي 4، 2018)، مما يزيد من انهيار العلاقات، وعدم القدرة على الحصول على التعليم العادي والاعتناء بصحتهم، إنه أمر مخيف للغاية وغير آمن أن تكون في سن 16-25 عامًا بلا مأوى. ومع ذلك، في ليلة الخميس هذه، وقف الناس في جميع أنحاء الجنوب الغربي، عبر القطاعات والمجموعات، معًا ليقولوا إن هؤلاء الشباب مهمون، وأن المجتمع سيفعل ما هو أفضل للتأكد من دعمهم، مما يمنحهم أفضل فرصة للازدهار. 
 
كان الحدث واضحًا جدًا أن النوم لليلة واحدة لم يكن تجربة التشرد، بل كان رمزًا للتوحد من أجل التغيير، ومعالجة مشكلة كون الشباب في وضع ضعيف وغير مستقر حيث يضطرون إلى التشرد. حيث يكون من الآمن بالنسبة لهم أن يكونوا بلا مأوى مقارنة بالمنزل. وقد سلطت قوة الدعم والاستثمار الهائلة من أولئك الذين حضروا الحدث الضوء على رغبة بريستول في تذكر الأطفال الأكبر سنًا والنضال من أجلهم في حياتنا ومجتمعنا. شاركت شركات مثل Andrews Property Group وDeloitte وLloyds في هذا الحدث، مؤكدة على أهميته ورفع مستوى الوعي لدى الموظفين والشركاء. واحتشد الناس وجمعوا أكثر من 60 ألف جنيه إسترليني وبعدد قياسي من الحضور. بفضل هذا الدعم، يمكن لـ 1625ip الوصول إلى مئات الشباب الآخرين لمنع التشرد وإدارته، وبالتالي منع المزيد من الصدمات. 

bristol 


كان الحدث بمثابة وقت تمكين، حيث استمعنا إلى أصوات الشباب الذين شاركوا بشجاعة قصصهم وأشعارهم للمساعدة في نقل التجربة الحقيقية. إن قضية كونك شابًا ومشردًا هي مسألة معقدة، وتنطوي على مزيج من الرفض والصدمات والإهمال وفقدان الفرص والقدرات، وأن تصبح غير مرئي، ونقص المال وسوء المعاملة. لا أحد يستطيع أن يفسر هذه الرحلة مثل الشباب أنفسهم. لقد كنا محظوظين أيضًا بمرافقة جوقة Sonder وBee Bakare، الذين جلبوا أغاني الأمل التي أثارت حماسة الحشود. ساعد وجود الموسيقى في هذا الحدث في تجاوز ما لا يمكن للكلمات دائمًا التعبير عنه وحفز الشعور بالهدف والدافع لمعالجة هذه القضية الحقيقية للغاية المتمثلة في تشرد الشباب. 
 
على الرغم من أنك عندما تقرأ هذا، فلن تكون محاطًا بضجة حدث ما، أو المشاعر التي تتصاعد عندما تسمع شخصًا يتحدث عن كيفية تغيير حياته، أو الشعور الذي يأتي مع أغنية. لكن لديك القدرة على إحداث التغيير، وتذكر الطفل الذي هو جوهر كل من هؤلاء الشباب. على الرغم من أنك قد تعتقد أنها تبدو مخيفة، إلا أنها في الواقع تحتاج إلى احتضانها والإيمان بها وتمويلها. إنه لشرف عظيم أن أعيش في بريستول، المجتمع الذي يصوغ طرقًا للمضي قدمًا لمساعدة الآخرين وجعل الجنوب الغربي موطنًا أفضل. وعلى الرغم من وجود العديد من المناشدات من الجمعيات الخيرية والقضايا، فإن الاستثمار في هذه القضية هو استثمار في مستقبل هويتنا كمجتمع. شباب وأطفال اليوم هم قادة الغد وصانعوه، الذين نختار أن ندعمهم، ونرى يزدهرون ويقودون الطريق. سوف تفعل؟
 
للمساهمة في 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً ماليًا، يمكنك زيارة صفحة جمع التبرعات الخاصة بهم هنا: https://www.justgiving.com/1625independentpeople 

إذا كنت مهتمًا بالمشاركة بطريقة أخرى، يمكنك معرفة المزيد من المعلومات هنا: https://www.1625ip.co.uk/Volunteering-V-I-P.aspx
 

في اخبار اخرى...
  • 7 يونيو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع التطوع (3-9 يونيو 2024) جلسنا مع جميليا وجولي أثناء مشاركتهما رحلتهما في برنامج التوجيه المجتمعي التطوعي لعام 1625. شاهد أدناه: هل يمكنك أن تكون مرشدًا لشاب؟ تحقق من فرص التطوع والتوجيه لدينا هنا.

  • 21 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بشهر التوعية بالصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع Megs، مدير تطوير الأعمال في خدمة تعليم الشباب (YES) لدينا. خلال محادثتنا، استكشفنا شغف ميج لدعم الشباب ورؤيتها حول الدور الحاسم للتعليم في دعم الصحة العقلية […]

  • 14 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع الصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع قائد فريق Reboot West. تحدثنا عن سبب اتخاذهم لمسار حياتهم المهنية، وما يستمتعون به في العمل مع الشباب وأفكارهم حول تحديات الصحة العقلية بين الشباب الذين يواجهون […]

  • 5 مارس 2024

    يجتمع مجلس مدينة بريستول وجمعية الشباب الخيرية للتشرد 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) معًا لإنشاء المزيد من المنازل الجديدة للشباب في المدينة. تم تصميم المجلس بالاشتراك مع الشباب، ويتعاون المجلس و1625 لإنشاء 8-10 منازل جديدة بأسعار معقولة للشباب المستعدين للعيش بشكل مستقل. المنازل الجديدة هي [...]

bristol

What would you do if you saw a child on the street?

14th November 2019

How an event transforms the lives of the young and homeless

 

It’s very clear when you look at a child, how fragile they can be, vulnerable, the need to protect and nurture them evident for all to see.  In the blink of an eye, their bodies change, stretching and reaching toward adulthood. Suddenly they look very ‘adult’.
 
But, they’re not and they still warrant that same right to protection, promotion and validation.  Charity, 1625 Independent People (1625ip), work with young people who are 16-25 years old, homeless, marginalised and disenfranchised.  They call for people to recognise how vulnerable these young people are, how the just thing is for them to be supported, drawn in and included. After all, they are our future, as we are theirs. 
 
On Thursday evening, 14 November 2019, 1625ip hosted a South West wide Sleep Out where 200 people came together and slept out in the cold to raise money and awareness for these young people.  16-25 years old is the loneliest age category (BBC Radio 4 survey, 2018), adding to relationship breakdown, unable to access a normal education and look after their health, it is incredibly frightening and unsafe to be 16-25 and homeless.  On this Thursday night, however, people across the South West, across sectors and groups, stood together to say that these young people matter, that society will do better to make sure they are supported, giving them the best opportunity to thrive. 
 
The event was very clear that sleeping out for a night was not an experience of being homeless but a symbol of uniting for change, tackling the issue of young people being in the vulnerable and precarious position where they are forced to be homeless. Where it is safer for them to be homeless than at home.  The sheer force of support and investment from those attending the event highlighted Bristol’s willingness to remember and fight for the older children in our lives and community.  Companies such as Andrews Property Group, Deloitte and Lloyds ran with the event, championing its importance and raising awareness with staff and partners.  And their people rallied, raising over £60,000 and with a record number of attendees.  With this support 1625ip can reach hundreds more young people to prevent and manage homelessness, and therefore, prevent further trauma. 

bristol 


The event was an empowering time, hearing the voices of young people, who bravely shared their stories and poetry to help convey the real experience.  The issue of being young and homeless is complicated, involving a concoction of rejection, trauma, neglect, loss of opportunity and agency, becoming invisible, lack of money and abuse. No one could explain this journey like the young people themselves. We were also fortunate to be accompanied by Sonder Choir and Bee Bakare, who brought songs of hope, stirring the crowds.  Having music at the event helped transcend what words can’t always express and galvanised a sense of purpose and drive to tackling this very real issue of youth homelessness. 
 
Though as you read this, you won’t be surrounded by the buzz of an event, or the emotions that bubble up when you hear someone speaking about how they turned their lives around, or the feeling that comes with a song.  But you are empowered to make a change, to remember the child who is the core of each of these young people.  While you might think they look intimidating, they actually need to be embraced, believed in and funded.  It is a privilege to live in Bristol, a community that forges ways forward to help others and make the South West a better home.  And while, there are many pleas from charities and causes, investing in this cause is to invest in the future of who we are as a community.  The young people and children of today are the leaders and grafters of tomorrow, who we choose to support, see flourish and lead the way.  Will you?
 
To contribute to 1625 Independent People financially, you can visit their fundraising page here: https://www.justgiving.com/1625independentpeople 

If you are interested in getting involved in another way, you can find out more information here: https://www.1625ip.co.uk/Volunteering-V-I-P.aspx
 

In other news...
  • 21st May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for […]

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]