我们正在向国家彩票遗产基金申请整修我们的总部,以创造。

- 为年轻人提供聚会和接受培训的良好空间

- 一个技能厨房

- 一个社会企业

- 为曾经无家可归的年轻人提供住房

- 为1625名同事提供高质量的办公空间

将为年轻人提供大量的就业和培训机会,包括一个遗产参与和学习活动方案。我们在7年内咨询了352名无家可归和有护理经验的年轻人,以确保项目的发展能够满足他们的需求和愿望。

 

重塑金斯利厅的形象

该项目将使金斯利厅(Kingsley Hall)--该慈善机构的基地和布里斯托尔老市场保护区的2*级建筑--进入可持续的、长期的有益用途,成为一个安全和温馨的地方,使该市最弱势的年轻人能够克服孤独,发展技能并重建他们的生活。

该项目以遗产为平台,通过发展年轻人的技能,建立关系,使无家可归的年轻人能够发展他们的身份和归属感,从而改变他们的生活。该项目将利用年轻人巨大的同情心、天赋和技能,实现他们生活和社区的积极变化。

关于空间

这个空间具有巨大的重要性,作为这个项目的一部分,我们正在探索以下主题

如果你对老市场和金尔西厅有任何历史知识...

我们如何利用我们的咨询

该项目将为年轻人提供机会,分享他们的学习、才能和技能。 作为希望提高年轻人参与度的遗产组织的培训师和顾问;作为布里斯托尔学校的遗产同伴教育者;以及作为 "青年导游",从他们的角度提供建筑、当地保护区和城市遗产地的旅游。

我们的咨询强调,当无家可归的年轻人参与遗产活动时,以敏感和有心理准备的方式为他们提供支持是至关重要的,因为许多人经历过创伤、家庭生活中断和教育中断。如果遗产项目要有效地吸引最弱势的年轻人,建立信任,以年轻人为中心,与年轻人并肩作战是一个重要的基础要求。

年轻人将参与项目的各个方面--包括设计、伙伴关系发展、市场评估、财务评估、沟通、活动规划、遗产活动的实施、评估,当然还有与翻修和装修工程相关的培训和就业。

这将包括各个层面的决策,包括决定开展哪些遗产活动;通过青年指导小组与活动协调人一起监督活动预算,并通过参与招聘小组与我们一起决定招聘对象。年轻人的参与将发展他们的代理权、所有权、技能和对自己优势和能力的认识。

即将举行的协商会议

日期
等待确认
在线预订
描述 帮助我们决定金斯利厅的未来!

空间对需要支持的年轻人的影响

作为一个安全和温馨的地方,该市最弱势的年轻人可以克服孤立,发展技能和重建他们的生活。它将成为年轻人改善生活的跳板,并将为年轻人提供机会,分享他们的学习、才能和技能。

建立信任,并以年轻人为中心,与年轻人并肩作战,对有效地吸引最弱势的年轻人至关重要。该项目将使年轻人与企业、社区团体、遗产组织、大学和学院进行有目的的互动,拓宽他们的视野,加强他们的归属感和认同感。

至关重要的是,无家可归的年轻人要以敏感和有心理准备的方式得到支持,许多人经历过创伤,家庭生活被打乱,教育被打乱。

对社区的影响

该项目将布里斯托尔最具有历史意义的建筑之一带给该市最弱势的年轻人和更广泛的社区,使其得到有益的使用。它得到了当地组织的强大网络的支持:大学、学院、议会部门、企业、遗产组织、青年慈善机构和学校。在他们的支持下,我们将创造一个繁荣的地方,让年轻人可以发展技能,改善他们的健康状况,获得培训和就业,并建立健康的关系。

为什么该项目至关重要

我们有一个千载难逢的机会,在无家可归的年轻人和脱离照料者面临最大风险的时候,为他们的利益翻修金斯利厅。

Covid-19加剧了他们所面临的不利条件,包括。

- 孤立和孤独感增加

- 家庭破裂、家庭暴力、性剥削和犯罪剥削增加

- 通过临时性合同和临时性合同增加了失业和工作的不安全性。

该项目将布里斯托尔最具有历史意义的建筑之一带给该市最弱势的年轻人和更广泛的社区进行有益的使用。它得到了当地组织的强大网络的支持:议会部门、企业、大学、学院、遗产组织、青年慈善机构和学校。在他们的支持下,我们将创造一个繁荣的地方,让年轻人可以发展技能,改善他们的健康状况,获得培训和就业,并建立健康的关系。

我们的咨询强调,当无家可归的年轻人参与遗产活动时,必须以敏感的和有心理准备的方式为他们提供支持,因为许多人经历过创伤、家庭生活中断和教育中断。如果遗产项目要有效地吸引最弱势的年轻人,建立信任,以年轻人为中心,与年轻人并肩作战是一个重要的基础要求。

 

实用链接

老市场文物径

Kingsley Hall 维基百科页面

英国名录中的建筑

关于布里斯托尔

Our Kingsley Hall Heritage Project is made possible with The National Lottery Heritage Fund. Thanks to National Lottery players, we are now able to develop our plans to bring Kingsley Hall, our Grade 2* listed building in Bristol’s Old Market conservation area, into sustainable, long term beneficial use as a safe and welcoming place, where young homeless people can overcome isolation, develop skills and rebuild their lives.

We have launched a campaign to raise the additional funding and pro-bono support we need to develop our plans and make this project a reality.

The project will create:

• great spaces for young people to meet and receive training

• a skills kitchen

• a social enterprise

• housing for young people who have been homeless

• high-quality office space for 1625ip colleagues

There will be a huge range of opportunities for employment and training for young people, including a programme of Heritage Engagement and Learning activities. We have consulted 352 homeless and care experienced young people over 7 years to ensure that the project is being developed to meet their needs and aspirations.

We have also been working closely with the We are Bristol History Commission, University of Bristol, City of Bristol College, Bristol Civic Society and many other partners to develop our plans so that young people can benefit from a diverse range of opportunities to explore the heritage of the building and the city.

Reimagining Kingsley Hall

The project uses heritage as a platform to transform young people’s lives by developing their skills, building relationships and enabling young homeless people to develop their sense of identity and belonging. The project will harness young people’s immense empathy, talent and skills to achieve positive change in their lives and the community.

Why is it important?

This space is of huge importance and we are exploring the following topics as part of this project

If you would like to hear more about this project:

How we’re using our consultations

The project will provide opportunities for young people to share their learning, talents and skills.  As trainers and advisers to heritage organisations wanting to increase participation of young people; as peer educators on heritage in Bristol’s schools; and as “youth guides” offering tours of the building, local conservation area and the city’s heritage sites from their perspective.

Our consultations have highlighted that it’s critical that homeless young people are supported in sensitive and psychologically informed ways as they engage in heritage, recognising many have experienced trauma, disrupted family life and a disrupted education. Building trust, putting young people at the centre and walking alongside young people is a vital underpinning requirement if heritage projects are to effectively engage the most disadvantaged young people.

Young people will participate in every aspect of the project – including design, partnership development, market appraisal, financial appraisal, communications, activity planning, delivery of heritage activities, evaluation and of course training and employment linked to the refurbishment and fit out works.

This will include decision-making at every level including deciding on what heritage activities are undertaken; overseeing the activities budget with the Activities Co-ordinator through the Youth Steering Group and making decisions with us on who we recruit through their participation on the recruitment panels. Young people’s participation will develop their agency, ownership, skills and awareness of their strengths and capabilities.

The impact of space on young people that need support

As a safe and welcoming place where the city’s most disadvantaged young people can overcome isolation, develop skills and rebuild their lives. It will be a springboard for young people to improve their lives and will provide opportunities for young people to share their learning, talents and skills.

Building trust, and putting young people at the centre and walking alongside young people is vital to effectively engage the most disadvantaged young people. The project will bring young people into purposeful interaction with businesses, community groups, heritage organisations, universities and colleges, broadening their horizons and strengthening their sense of belonging and identity.

It’s critical that homeless young people are supported in sensitive and psychologically informed ways, many have experienced trauma, disrupted family life and a disrupted education.

What do young people think about the re-developmnent of Kingsley Hall?

‘I didn't actually realize until speaking to 1625, a bit about the history of Kingsley Hall that it was actually used as a meeting place for the suffragettes, like 1625 …. and it's like a safe place for young people to go. Kingsley hall has been that historically and it's still being used for that same thing. I think it's really amazing that we've carried that on throughout history'
‘I love history, it's so important. When I talk about it, it brings me back to what it would be like back then. I don't know how to say but it can change and be a better place. The building [Kingsley Hall] has been there through so many things in history, through generations. All those people, people we don't even know, people that built it, it's crazy.’
‘It's good to be able to share what Bristol was and is now'

Impact on the community

The project brings one of Bristol’s most historic buildings into beneficial use for the city’s most vulnerable young people and the wider community. It is supported by a strong network of local organisations: universities, colleges, council departments, businesses, heritage organisations, youth charities and schools. With their support, we will create a thriving place where young people can develop skills, improve their wellbeing, access training and employment and build healthy relationships.

Why the project is critical

We have a once in a lifetime opportunity to refurbish Kingsley Hall for the benefit of homeless young people and care leavers at a time they are at greatest risk.

Covid-19 has intensified the disadvantages they face, including:

• increased isolation and loneliness

• increased family breakdown, domestic violence, sexual and criminal exploitation

• increased unemployment and job insecurity through casual and temporary contracts.

The project brings one of Bristol’s most historic buildings into beneficial use for the city’s most vulnerable young people and the wider community. It is supported by a strong network of local organisations: council departments, businesses, universities, colleges, heritage organisations, youth charities and schools. With their support, we will create a thriving place where young people can develop skills, improve their wellbeing, access training and employment and build healthy relationships.

Our consultations have highlighted that it’s critical that homeless young people are supported in sensitive and psychologically informed ways as they engage in heritage, recognising many have experienced trauma, disrupted family life and disrupted education. Building trust, putting young people at the centre and walking alongside young people is a vital underpinning requirements if heritage projects are to effectively engage the most disadvantaged young people.

 

Useful Links

Old Market Heritage Trail

Kingsley Hall Wikipedia Page

British Listed Buildings

About Bristol