يقوم مجلس مدينة بريستول و1625 شخصًا مستقلاً بإنشاء منازل جديدة للشباب

5 مارس 2024

يجتمع مجلس مدينة بريستول وجمعية الشباب الخيرية للتشرد 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) معًا لإنشاء المزيد من المنازل الجديدة للشباب في المدينة. تم تصميم المجلس بالاشتراك مع الشباب، ويتعاون المجلس و1625 لإنشاء 8-10 منازل جديدة بأسعار معقولة للشباب المستعدين للعيش بشكل مستقل.

تعد المنازل الجديدة جزءًا مهمًا من ترميم قاعة كينغسلي، التي كانت بمثابة قاعدة يعود تاريخها إلى عام 1625 في السوق القديم. المبنى المحمي من الدرجة الثانية* موجود حاليًا في سجل التراث التاريخي المعرض للخطر في إنجلترا وهو في حاجة ماسة إلى الإصلاح والترميم. الآن، وبدعم من صندوق تراث اليانصيب الوطني ومجلس مدينة بريستول وهيئة إنجلترا التاريخية، يتم تحويل مبنى كينغسلي هول التاريخي إلى مكان ترحيبي جديد حيث يمكن للشباب الحصول على التدريب والوظائف والإقامة.

وبالإضافة إلى المساكن الجديدة الموفرة للطاقة، سيستفيد الشباب من الدورات التعليمية والتدريبية، ومطبخ المهارات، ومقهى المؤسسات الاجتماعية التي يقودها الشباب. ستوفر Kingsley Hall بيئة ترحيبية وآمنة تعزز الروابط الهادفة بين الشباب ومجتمعاتهم.

ستضمن عملية ترميم قاعة كينجسلي استخدام المبنى التاريخي بشكل مستدام على المدى الطويل كمكان آمن ومرحب حيث يمكن للشباب التغلب على العزلة وتطوير المهارات وإعادة بناء حياتهم.

 

قال المستشار توم رينهارد، عضو مجلس الوزراء لشؤون توفير المساكن والتشرد:

"يساعد مشروع Kingsley Hall المبتكر في عام 1625 على تلبية حاجة بريستول الملحة إلى سكن مستدام وعالي الجودة يربط الشباب بالفرص التي يحتاجون إليها للنجاح في الحياة. يجمع المشروع شركاء من جميع أنحاء المدينة بما في ذلك الجمعيات الخيرية والشركات والمجلس والتعليم. إنه مثال مثير حقًا لكيفية تنفيذ خطة المدينة الواحدة الخاصة بنا، بحيث يعيش كل شخص في بريستول في منزل يلبي احتياجاته ضمن مجتمع مزدهر وآمن.

"آمل أن يشعر الجميع بأن هذا المشروع يمكن أن يتخلفوا عنه نظرًا للأثر الإيجابي الذي سيحدثه على الشباب في المدينة. كما أنه سيقدم مساهمة مهمة في توفير المساكن، حيث نواصل البناء على 12,534 منزلًا تم بناؤها في المدينة منذ عام 2016.

 

1625 يدعم الشباب الذين كانت لديهم بداية صعبة في الحياة بعد أن تعرضوا للتفكك الأسري. ستوفر المنازل الجديدة عالية الجودة، إلى جانب المرافق والفرص الجديدة التي يحتاجها الشباب لتطوير المهارات والرفاهية، الخطوة التالية للشباب المستعدين للعيش والازدهار بشكل مستقل.

 

"إن دعم مجلس مدينة بريستول لكينغسلي هول من خلال تمويل الإسكان الميسور التكلفة يوفر دعمًا حيويًا لشباب مدينتنا ويبني على طموحنا المشترك المتمثل في أنه يجب أن يحصل جميع الشباب على منزل آمن إلى جانب الفرص التي يحتاجون إليها لتحقيق النجاح". يوضح جيمي جيل، مدير الشراكات في 1625.

"لقد شارك الشباب في جميع مراحل تطوير مشروع Kingsley Hall، حيث تبادلوا خبراتهم ورؤيتهم ومهاراتهم حتى نتمكن معًا من خلق إرث دائم للشباب في المدينة. ومن خلال هذا المشروع، نخطط لرفع أصوات الشباب ومساهمتهم في المدينة، ورعاية نقاط قوتهم ومواهبهم حتى يتمكنوا من الإيمان بأنفسهم ولعب دور في خلق مستقبل إيجابي للشباب الآخرين في المدينة أيضًا.

 

وقد شارك الشباب في التصميم وصنع القرار على كافة المستويات، بدءًا من تطوير خطة العمل وحتى تصميم وتسليم المبنى المُعاد ترميمه. يقع المشروع في قلب منطقة محمية السوق القديم في بريستول، ويهدف إلى تغيير حياة الشباب من خلال تطوير مهاراتهم وبناء علاقات جديدة وتعزيز شعورهم بالهوية والانتماء في المدينة. يجمع المشروع الشباب في تفاعل هادف مع الجامعات والكليات والشركات المحلية ومجموعات المجتمع والمنظمات التراثية.

يعمل الشباب بشكل وثيق مع شركة Childs Sulzmann Architects، التي شملت مشاريعها الأخرى أكاديمية Royal West of England، وكاتدرائية Bristol وWatershed، للمشاركة في تصميم منازل ترحيبية عالية الجودة ومرافق التدريب في Kingsley Hall.

 

"لقد كان مجلس الشباب لعام 1625 بمثابة مساحة مثمرة ومفتوحة ومشجعة حقًا للمناقشة حول مشروع Kingsley Hall بما في ذلك مخططات الطوابق وإجراء التصوير الفوتوغرافي والبحث. لقد اكتسبت نظرة ثاقبة لأفكار ووجهات نظر جديدة ومختلفة وتعرفت على مواضيع لم يكن من المحتمل أن تتاح لي الفرصة لتعلمها. سيستمر مجلس الشباب في المشاركة مع تطور المشروع، بما في ذلك تصميم المبنى وإدارة المشروع "1625 عضو مجلس إدارة شباب التراث

 

سيقوم 1625 بإشراك جيرانهم ومجتمعات السوق القديم وبريستول الأوسع خلال الأشهر المقبلة قبل تقديم طلب تخطيط للتغييرات في وقت لاحق من هذا العام.

بالإضافة إلى المنازل ذات الأسعار المعقولة التي تشتد الحاجة إليها، يعمل المشروع على خلق فرص عمل جديدة للسكان المحليين، وفرص جديدة للتعلم والمهارات، ومجموعة كبيرة من الطرق للتطوع مع 1625.

تم بناء Kingsley Hall في عام 1709 وكان بمثابة معلم مهم في مركز التغيير الاجتماعي لأكثر من 100 عام. إلى جانب تصميم وتسليم مشروع البناء، تعمل مؤسسة 1625 على إشراك الشباب في التعلم من تاريخ قاعة كينغسلي والمدينة، بالإضافة إلى المشاركة بنشاط في تشكيل مستقبل أكثر إشراقًا للشباب في المدينة.

في اخبار اخرى...
  • 21 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بشهر التوعية بالصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع Megs، مدير تطوير الأعمال في خدمة تعليم الشباب (YES) لدينا. خلال محادثتنا، استكشفنا شغف ميج لدعم الشباب ورؤيتها حول الدور الحاسم للتعليم في دعم الصحة العقلية […]

  • 14 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع الصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع قائد فريق Reboot West. تحدثنا عن سبب اتخاذهم لمسار حياتهم المهنية، وما يستمتعون به في العمل مع الشباب وأفكارهم حول تحديات الصحة العقلية بين الشباب الذين يواجهون […]

  • 1 مارس 2024

    في 1625، نحن ملتزمون بشدة بتعزيز نمو وتطور زملائنا، وتمكينهم من التفوق في حياتهم المهنية. استكشف رحلة هانا جرين (قائدة فريق بناء المستقبل) في أحدث إصدار من "قصص التقدم الوظيفي". "عندما تقدمت لأول مرة بطلب للحصول على وظيفة تغطية الأمومة في عام 1625، رأيت أنها فرصة […]

  • 26 فبراير 2024

    الثقة - المهارات - تحقيق الحياة "لدي أهداف وطموحات - أشعر بالفعل أنني أستطيع القيام بذلك الآن" "لقد كان الدعم الذي تلقيته أكثر من مجرد خطوة نحو المسار الوظيفي. لقد كان عملي مع Reboot West Coach كبيرًا بالنسبة لي لفهم أنني قادر و […]

Bristol City Council and 1625 Independent People are creating new homes for young people

5th March 2024

Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently.

The new homes are a crucial part of the restoration of the Kingsley Hall, which serves as 1625’s base in Old Market. The Grade II* listed building is currently on Historic England’s Heritage at Risk Register and is in urgent need of repair and restoration. Now, with the support of The National Lottery Heritage Fund, Bristol City Council and Historic England, the historic Kingsley Hall building is being transformed into a new welcoming place where young people can access training, jobs and accommodation.

In addition to new, energy-efficient housing, young people will benefit from education and training courses, a skills kitchen, and a youth-led social enterprise cafe. Kingsley Hall will provide a welcoming and safe environment fostering meaningful connections between young people and their communities.

The restoration of Kingsley Hall will ensure the historic building is brought into sustainable, long- term use as a safe and welcoming place where young people can overcome isolation, develop skills, and rebuild their lives.

 

Councillor Tom Renhard, Cabinet Member for Housing Delivery and Homelessness, said:

“1625’s innovative Kingsley Hall project helps meet Bristol’s urgent need for high-quality, sustainable housing that connects young people with the opportunities they need to succeed in life. The project brings together partners from across the city including charities, businesses, the council and education. It is a really exciting example of how we are delivering on our One City Plan, so that everyone in Bristol lives in a home that meets their needs within a thriving and safe community.

“I hope this is a project that everyone feels they can get behind given the positive impact it will have for young people in the city. It will also make an important contribution to housing delivery, as we continue to build on the 12,534 homes built in the city since 2016.”

 

1625 supports young people who have had a difficult start in life having experienced family breakdown. The new, high-quality homes, alongside the new facilities and opportunities young people need to develop skills and wellbeing, will provide the next step for young people who are ready to live, and thrive, independently.

 

“Bristol City Council’s support for Kingsley Hall through their affordable housing funding provides vital backing for our city’s young people and builds on our shared ambition that all young people must have a safe home alongside the opportunities they need to thrive”, explains Jamie Gill, 1625 Partnerships Director.

“Young people have been involved throughout the development of the Kingsley Hall project, sharing their expertise, insight and skills so that together we can create a lasting legacy for young people in the city. Through this project, we plan to elevate young people’s voices and contribution in the city, nurturing their strengths and talents so they can believe in themselves and play a part in creating a positive future for other young people in the city too”.

 

Young people have been involved in the design and decision-making at every level, from developing the business plan, to the design and delivery of the restored building. Based in the heart of Bristol’s Old Market conservation area, the project aims to transform young people’s lives by developing their skills, building new relationships, and strengthening their sense of identity and belonging in the city.  The project is bringing young people into purposeful interaction with universities, colleges, local businesses, community groups and heritage organisations.

Young people are working closely with Childs Sulzmann Architects, whose other projects have included the Royal West of England Academy, Bristol Cathedral and the Watershed, to co-design welcoming high quality homes and training facilities at Kingsley Hall.

 

“The 1625 youth board has been a really productive, open, and encouraging space for discussion about the Kingsley Hall project including the floor plans and undertaking photography and research. I have gained insight into new and different ideas and perspectives and learnt about subjects I likely wouldn’t otherwise have had the opportunity to. The youth board will continue to be involved as the project develops, including the building design and project management” 1625 Heritage Youth Board Member

 

1625 will be engaging their neighbours and the wider Old Market and Bristol communities during the coming months ahead of submitting a planning application for the changes later this year.

In addition to the much-needed affordable homes, the project is creating new jobs for local people, new opportunities for learning and skills, and a wealth of ways to volunteer with 1625.

Kingsley Hall was built in 1709 and has been an important landmark at the centre of social change for well over 100 years. Alongside design and delivery of the building project, 1625 are engaging young people in learning from the history of Kingsley Hall and the city, as well as actively participating in shaping a brighter future for young people in the city.

In other news...
  • 12th July 2024

    Board Members Voluntary / Unremunerated Bristol About five Board meetings are held a year, mostly in-person and normally in the evening (6.30pm – 9pm) At 1625 Independent People (1625) we have worked with young people in the South West for over 40 years. We are award-winning experts in providing services for young people who are […]

  • 7th June 2024

    In celebration of Volunteer’s Week (3-9 June 2024) we sat down with Jamelia and Julie as they shared their journey in our 1625 Volunteer Community Mentoring Programme. Watch below: Could you be a mentor to a young person? Check out our volunteering and mentoring opportunities here.

  • 21st May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for […]

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]