تعرف على ميغس، مدير تطوير الأعمال في YES

21 مايو 2024

احتفالاً بشهر التوعية بالصحة النفسية وإطلاق Big Give's Kind2Mind لحملة جمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع ميغس، مدير تطوير الأعمال في شركتنا خدمة تعليم الشباب (نعم). خلال محادثتنا، استكشفنا شغف ميج لدعم الشباب ورؤيتها حول الدور الحاسم للتعليم في دعم الصحة العقلية لأولئك الذين يواجهون التشرد أو ترك الرعاية.

يرجى تقديم نفسك وإخبارنا عن دورك في YES.


"يا! اسمي ميغز، ولدي ديك صغير شقي يُدعى رومي، وأنا أحب البحر وركوب الأمواج، ومنذ سبتمبر من العام الماضي، كنت مديرًا في خدمة تعليم الشباب (YES).

تقدم YES دروسًا بديلة للغة الإنجليزية والرياضيات في مجموعات صغيرة أو 1:1 مع الشباب الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 16 و25 عامًا. مدرسونا مبدعون وودودون ومرنون مما يسمح للشباب بالتعلم بالطريقة التي تناسبهم.

لدينا مجموعة كبيرة من البسكويت، وإذا طلبت تعلم الرياضيات من خلال خبز الكعك، فأنا متأكد من أننا سنوافق على أنها فكرة رائعة!

 

ما أهمية التعليم عند دعم الشباب بصحتهم العقلية؟

"أعتقد أن الوصول إلى التعليم الجيد هو حق أساسي من حقوق الإنسان، وأساسي للمساعدة في الاختيارات المفيدة والعقل السليم. لم يكن لدى العديد من شبابنا تجارب تعليمية إيجابية في ماضيهم، وغالبًا ما يكون ذلك بسبب الصدمة في منزل الأسرة، أو التنمر، أو لأسباب أخرى خارجة عن سيطرة الشاب.

يؤدي هذا إلى ترك الطالب للمدرسة معتقدًا أنه غير قادر، وهو ما يصبح بعد ذلك قصة يحملها معهم طوال الحياة عند اتخاذ القرارات المتعلقة بمستقبلهم. سن القراءة الوطني لنزلاء السجون في المملكة المتحدة هو 7 سنوات. هناك صلة مباشرة بين نقص التعليم وانتهاء الأمر في السجن.

في حين أن التعليم السائد يناسب معظم الناس، فإنه لا يصلح للجميع. لذلك من الضروري أن نقدم طرقًا بديلة للحصول على التعليم إذا أردنا دعم الجميع ليحصلوا على فرصة للشعور بالثقة والإيمان بأنفسهم.

 

كيف تدعم منظمة YES الشباب في صحتهم العقلية؟

"بالأمس، في منتصف حصة الرياضيات، سأل أحد الطلاب معلمه عما إذا كان قد تعرض لحالة من "الهدوء" في صحته العقلية. شعر المعلم بالارتياح لإجراء محادثات حول صحتهم العقلية، مما أدى إلى مناقشة مفتوحة وجماعية حول الاكتئاب. كان عنصر التطبيع لهذا الشاب عميقًا ومنح الطالب الثقة لشرح ما كان يشعر به في تلك اللحظة. إنه يوضح أنه بمجرد وجودهم في مكان آمن، يشعر الشباب بالقدرة على الانفتاح. هذا المثال هو نوع من التذكير اليومي الذي أتلقاه من طلابنا بأن وجود مساحات آمنة وقدوة هو أهم شيء للحفاظ على سلامتهم.

على الرغم من أن الحصول على المؤهلات من خلال برنامج YES يعد أمرًا مهمًا ومفيدًا للآفاق المستقبلية، إلا أننا نؤمن بأن أفضل ما نقوم به هو إظهار قدرات الشباب ودعمهم لاكتشاف قوتهم وإعادة كتابة عبارة "لا أستطيع" السرد وإعطاء شبابنا الطموح والمهارة والثقة.

هل لديك أي نصائح لإدارة الصحة العقلية؟


نعم! قليلة!

  • لا تنسى أبدًا... أن تكون إنسانًا = تشعر بالقمامة أحيانًا!
  • ليست كل الأفكار صحيحة حتى لو شعرت بها!
  • لدينا جميعًا أفكار حكمية عن أنفسنا ولكنها ليست لطيفة، ولكن إذا ظللنا فضوليين بشأنها، فقد نجد أنها يمكن أن تكون مفيدة!

 

لماذا تعتقد أنه يجب على الأشخاص التبرع لحملة Big Give Kind2Mind، وما هو التأثير الذي تأمل أن يكون له على دعم الشباب؟

العديد من الشباب الذين نعمل معهم ليس لديهم أي شخص يمكنهم اقتراض عشرة دولارات مقابل بعض الطعام إذا كانوا في حاجة ماسة إليه. بالنسبة للكثيرين منا، لم يخطر هذا التوتر في أذهاننا أبدًا. ازمة تكلفة المعيشة بالنسبة لنا جميعا حقيقية، ولكن عدم المساواة حقيقية ايضا والتبرعات الصغيرة تساعدنا على جعل الجنوب الغربي مجرد منطقة صغيرة وصغيرة اكثر عدلا اجتماعيا!

شكرا للقراءة!

 

ادعم حملة جمع التبرعات Kind2Mind التابعة لمنظمة Big Give

يمكنك المساعدة في دعم الصحة العقلية للشباب المشردين والمعرضين لخطر التشرد وترك الرعاية من خلال التبرع لحملة Kind2Mind التابعة لـ Big Give. بدءًا من الساعة 12 ظهرًا في 14 مايو والساعة 12 ظهرًا في 28 مايو 2024، يطابق برنامج Big Give تبرعاتك، حيث تصبح 10 جنيهات إسترلينية 20 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا، ويتحول 50 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا إلى 100 جنيه إسترليني، وهكذا. مضاعفة لطفك هنا.

في اخبار اخرى...
  • 12 يوليو 2024

    أعضاء مجلس الإدارة التطوعيون / بدون أجر بريستول يتم عقد حوالي خمسة اجتماعات لمجلس الإدارة سنويًا، معظمها شخصيًا وعادة في المساء (6.30 مساءً - 9 مساءً) في 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) عملنا مع الشباب في الجنوب الغربي لأكثر من 40 عامًا سنين. نحن خبراء حائزون على جوائز في تقديم الخدمات للشباب الذين [...]

  • 7 يونيو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع التطوع (3-9 يونيو 2024) جلسنا مع جميليا وجولي أثناء مشاركتهما رحلتهما في برنامج التوجيه المجتمعي التطوعي لعام 1625. شاهد أدناه: هل يمكنك أن تكون مرشدًا لشاب؟ تحقق من فرص التطوع والتوجيه لدينا هنا.

  • 14 مايو 2024

    احتفالًا بأسبوع الصحة العقلية وإطلاق حملة Big Give's Kind2Mind لجمع التبرعات (14-28 مايو 2024)، أجرينا مقابلة مع قائد فريق Reboot West. تحدثنا عن سبب اتخاذهم لمسار حياتهم المهنية، وما يستمتعون به في العمل مع الشباب وأفكارهم حول تحديات الصحة العقلية بين الشباب الذين يواجهون […]

  • 5 مارس 2024

    يجتمع مجلس مدينة بريستول وجمعية الشباب الخيرية للتشرد 1625 شخصًا مستقلاً (1625) معًا لإنشاء المزيد من المنازل الجديدة للشباب في المدينة. تم تصميم المجلس بالاشتراك مع الشباب، ويتعاون المجلس و1625 لإنشاء 8-10 منازل جديدة بأسعار معقولة للشباب المستعدين للعيش بشكل مستقل. المنازل الجديدة هي [...]

Meet Megs, YES Business Development Manager

21st May 2024

In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for those facing homelessness or leaving care.

Please introduce yourself and tell us about your role at YES.


“Hey! I’m Megs, I have a naughty cockerpoo called Rummy, I love the sea and surfing, and since September last year, I have been the manager at our Youth Education Service (YES).

YES offers alternative English and Maths tutoring in small groups or 1:1 with 16-25-year-old young people. Our tutors are creative, friendly, and flexible allowing young people to learn in a way that suits them.

We have a great selection of biscuits, and if you ask to learn maths through baking cakes – I’m sure we will agree that’s a fab idea!”

 

Why is education important when supporting young people with their mental health?

“I believe access to good education is a basic human right, and fundamental to aiding helpful choices and a healthy mind. Many of our young people have not had positive experiences of education in their past, often due to trauma in the family home, bullying, or other reasons outside of the young person’s control.

This leads to the student leaving school believing that they’re not capable, which then becomes a narrative they carry with them through life when making decisions for their future. The national reading age of the UK prison population is 7. There is a direct link between lack of education and ending up in jail.

Whilst mainstream education works for most, it doesn’t work for all. So it is imperative we offer alternative ways of getting an education if we want to support everyone to have an opportunity to feel confident and believe in themselves.”

 

How does YES support young people with their mental health?

“Yesterday, in the middle of a maths class a student asked their tutor if they had ever experienced a ‘lull’ in their own mental health. The tutor felt comfortable to have conversations around their own mental health, which led to an open and group discussion about depression. The normalising element of this for this young person was profound and gave the student confidence to explain how he was feeling at the moment. It demonstrates that just by being in a safe space young people feel able to open up. This example is the kind of daily reminder I get from our students that having safe spaces and role models is the most important thing to keep them safe.”

Whilst obtaining qualifications through YES is important and helpful for future prospects, we believe the thing we’re best at is showing young people that they are capable, and supporting them to discover their own strength, re-writing the ‘I can’t’ narrative and giving our young people ambition, skill and confidence.”

Do you have any tips for managing mental health?


Yes! A few!

  • Never forget … being human = feeling rubbish sometimes!
  • Not all thoughts are true even if they feel it!
  • We all have judgy thoughts about ourselves that don’t feel nice, but if we stay curious about them, we might find they can be helpful!

 

Why do you believe people should donate to the Big Give Kind2Mind campaign, and what impact do you hope it will have on supporting young people?

Many of the young people we work with don’t have anyone they could borrow a tenner off for some food if they were in desperate need. For lots of us, this stress has never even crossed our minds. The cost-of-living crisis for all of us is real, but inequality is also real and small donations help us make the south west just a teeny, weeny bit more socially just!

Thanks for reading!

 

Support the Big Give’s Kind2Mind Fundraising Campaign

You can help support the mental health of young people who are homeless, at risk of homelessness and leaving care by donating to Big Give’s Kind2Mind campaign. From 12pm on the 14th of May and 12pm on the 28th of May 2024, Big Give is matching your donations, your £10 becomes £20, £50 turns into £100 and so on. Double your kindness here.

In other news...
  • 7th June 2024

    In celebration of Volunteer’s Week (3-9 June 2024) we sat down with Jamelia and Julie as they shared their journey in our 1625 Volunteer Community Mentoring Programme. Watch below: Could you be a mentor to a young person? Check out our volunteering and mentoring opportunities here.

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]