认识 YES 业务发展经理 Megs

2024年5月21日

为庆祝心理健康宣传月和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了我们 青年教育服务(YES)。 在交谈中,我们探讨了梅格对支持年轻人的热情,以及她对教育在支持无家可归者或需要离开照料的人的心理健康方面所发挥的关键作用的见解。

请介绍一下自己并介绍您在 YES 的职责。


“嗨!我是梅格斯,我有一只调皮的可卡犬,名叫 Rummy,我喜欢大海和冲浪,从去年 9 月开始,我就担任我们青年教育服务 (YES) 的经理。

YES 为 16-25 岁的年轻人提供小组或一对一英语和数学辅导。我们的导师富有创意、友好且灵活,可以让年轻人以适合自己的方式学习。

我们有各种各样的饼干可供选择,如果你要求通过烘焙蛋糕来学习数学——我相信我们都会同意这是一个绝妙的主意!”

 

为什么教育在支持年轻人的心理健康方面很重要?

“我相信接受良好教育是一项基本人权,也是帮助人们做出有益选择和拥有健康心态的根本。我们的许多年轻人过去并没有接受过积极的教育,这通常是由于家庭创伤、欺凌或其他年轻人无法控制的原因。

这导致学生离开学校时认为自己能力不足,而这种想法会伴随他们一生,影响他们未来的决策。英国监狱囚犯的全国阅读年龄为 7 岁。缺乏教育与入狱之间存在直接联系。

虽然主流教育对大多数人有用,但并不适用于所有人。因此,如果我们想让每个人都有机会感到自信并相信自己,就必须提供接受教育的其他方式。”

 

YES 如何支持年轻人的心理健康?

“昨天,在数学课上,一名学生问他们的导师,他们是否经历过心理健康的‘低谷’。导师很乐意谈论自己的心理健康问题,这引发了一场关于抑郁症的公开小组讨论。这对这个年轻人来说是一种正常化的元素,也给了学生信心来解释他当时的感受。这表明,只要身处安全的空间,年轻人就能敞开心扉。这个例子是我从学生那里得到的日常提醒,拥有安全的空间和榜样是保证他们安全的最重要因素。”

虽然通过 YES 获得资格对于未来前景很重要且很有帮助,但我们相信我们最擅长的是向年轻人展示他们的能力,并支持他们发现自己的力量,改写‘我不能’的叙述,并赋予我们的年轻人雄心、技能和信心。”

您有什么管理心理健康的建议吗?


是的!有几个!

  • 永远不要忘记... 作为人=有时感觉很糟糕!
  • 并非所有的想法都是真实的,即使他们感觉到了!
  • 我们都会对自己有一些不好的评判性想法,但如果我们保持好奇心,我们可能会发现它们是有帮助的!

 

为什么您认为人们应该向 Big Give Kind2Mind 活动捐款,以及您希望它对支持年轻人产生什么影响?

我们一起工作的许多年轻人,在急需食物时,没有人可以借给他们十英镑买食物。对于我们很多人来说,这种压力从未出现在我们脑海中。我们所有人的生活成本危机是真实存在的,但不平等也是真实存在的,小额捐款可以帮助我们让西南地区的社会更加公正!

谢谢阅读!

 

支持 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动

您可以通过向 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 活动捐款,帮助支持无家可归、面临无家可归风险和需要照顾的年轻人的心理健康。从 2024 年 5 月 14 日中午 12 点到 5 月 28 日中午 12 点,Big Give 将匹配您的捐款,您的 10 英镑将变成 20 英镑,50 英镑将变成 100 英镑,依此类推。 在此加倍您的善意。

在其他新闻中...
  • 2024年6月7日

    为了庆祝志愿者周(2024 年 6 月 3 日至 9 日),我们采访了 Jamelia 和 Julie,听她们分享了她们参加 1625 志愿者社区辅导计划的历程。请观看以下视频:您能成为年轻人的导师吗?在此查看我们的志愿服务和辅导机会。

  • 2024年5月14日

    为了庆祝心理健康周和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了 Reboot West 的团队负责人。我们谈到了他们选择职业道路的原因、他们喜欢与年轻人一起工作的原因以及他们对面临心理健康挑战的年轻人的看法 […]

  • 第 5 次 3 月 2024

    布里斯托尔市政府和青年无家可归者慈善机构 1625 独立人士(1625)将携手为该市的年轻人建造更多新家园。理事会和 1625 将与年轻人共同设计,为准备独立生活的年轻人新建 8-10 处经济适用房。这些新住宅是[...]

  • 1st 3 月 2024

    在1625,我们满怀激情地致力于促进同事的成长和发展,使他们能够在职业生涯中脱颖而出。在我们最新一期的 "职业发展故事 "中,我们将介绍汉娜-格林(Building Futures Team Leader)的职业发展历程。"当我第一次申请 1625 的产假代班职位时,我认为这是一个 [...] 的机会。

Meet Megs, YES Business Development Manager

21st May 2024

In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for those facing homelessness or leaving care.

Please introduce yourself and tell us about your role at YES.


“Hey! I’m Megs, I have a naughty cockerpoo called Rummy, I love the sea and surfing, and since September last year, I have been the manager at our Youth Education Service (YES).

YES offers alternative English and Maths tutoring in small groups or 1:1 with 16-25-year-old young people. Our tutors are creative, friendly, and flexible allowing young people to learn in a way that suits them.

We have a great selection of biscuits, and if you ask to learn maths through baking cakes – I’m sure we will agree that’s a fab idea!”

 

Why is education important when supporting young people with their mental health?

“I believe access to good education is a basic human right, and fundamental to aiding helpful choices and a healthy mind. Many of our young people have not had positive experiences of education in their past, often due to trauma in the family home, bullying, or other reasons outside of the young person’s control.

This leads to the student leaving school believing that they’re not capable, which then becomes a narrative they carry with them through life when making decisions for their future. The national reading age of the UK prison population is 7. There is a direct link between lack of education and ending up in jail.

Whilst mainstream education works for most, it doesn’t work for all. So it is imperative we offer alternative ways of getting an education if we want to support everyone to have an opportunity to feel confident and believe in themselves.”

 

How does YES support young people with their mental health?

“Yesterday, in the middle of a maths class a student asked their tutor if they had ever experienced a ‘lull’ in their own mental health. The tutor felt comfortable to have conversations around their own mental health, which led to an open and group discussion about depression. The normalising element of this for this young person was profound and gave the student confidence to explain how he was feeling at the moment. It demonstrates that just by being in a safe space young people feel able to open up. This example is the kind of daily reminder I get from our students that having safe spaces and role models is the most important thing to keep them safe.”

Whilst obtaining qualifications through YES is important and helpful for future prospects, we believe the thing we’re best at is showing young people that they are capable, and supporting them to discover their own strength, re-writing the ‘I can’t’ narrative and giving our young people ambition, skill and confidence.”

Do you have any tips for managing mental health?


Yes! A few!

  • Never forget … being human = feeling rubbish sometimes!
  • Not all thoughts are true even if they feel it!
  • We all have judgy thoughts about ourselves that don’t feel nice, but if we stay curious about them, we might find they can be helpful!

 

Why do you believe people should donate to the Big Give Kind2Mind campaign, and what impact do you hope it will have on supporting young people?

Many of the young people we work with don’t have anyone they could borrow a tenner off for some food if they were in desperate need. For lots of us, this stress has never even crossed our minds. The cost-of-living crisis for all of us is real, but inequality is also real and small donations help us make the south west just a teeny, weeny bit more socially just!

Thanks for reading!

 

Support the Big Give’s Kind2Mind Fundraising Campaign

You can help support the mental health of young people who are homeless, at risk of homelessness and leaving care by donating to Big Give’s Kind2Mind campaign. From 12pm on the 14th of May and 12pm on the 28th of May 2024, Big Give is matching your donations, your £10 becomes £20, £50 turns into £100 and so on. Double your kindness here.

In other news...
  • 7th June 2024

    In celebration of Volunteer’s Week (3-9 June 2024) we sat down with Jamelia and Julie as they shared their journey in our 1625 Volunteer Community Mentoring Programme. Watch below: Could you be a mentor to a young person? Check out our volunteering and mentoring opportunities here.

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]