Weld Shop (2) (1)

当你看到一个愿景成为现实时,这是很令人兴奋的。

2019 年 2 月 20 日

在LaunchPad,我们的愿景是创造一个多样化、支持性和可持续的社区,将布里斯托尔大学的学生、从1625独立人士转来的年轻人和来自社区的关键工作者聚集在一起。启动垫团队知道,这一愿景的基础是一个安全和有保障的家。

发射台的开发是为了解决今天许多人所面临的住房问题。由于缺乏靠近就业机会的可负担住房,导致年轻人无家可归的情况急剧增加。年轻人面临着孤立、分离和负担不起的租金,这些问题需要住房设计的创新。住房部门需要建造创造社区的房屋,并提供一个令人向往的环境,让所有人都能实现自己的目标并为社区作出贡献。
就这样,Launch Pad诞生了。

该设计
我们咨询了来自住房组织、建筑师、慈善机构、大学、年轻人、学生和社区的丰富知识和经验。通过这个过程,我们决定,这不仅是一个创新的社区,而且它将使用不同的建筑形式。这些单元由Integra建筑公司在东约克郡的一家工厂 "离场 "建造。它们被设计成运输集装箱的样子,里面的所有东西都是定制的,并集成了电器以充分利用空间。每个单位都有一个睡眠区、套房浴室和小厨房。它们是为一个人设计的,有额外的公共生活空间、公用事业室和花园。
该设计涉及到高质量、低影响的建筑技术,具有良好的热性能,并支持我们在居民中建立积极的关系的目标,同时考虑到共享花园、社交空间和活动空间。
 


Integra Buildings的总经理Gary Parker说。 "我们很高兴将我们最先进的模块化建筑技术带到Launch Pad这样一个鼓舞人心的项目中,这将对许多年轻人的生活产生重要影响。
"由于我们的创新设计和施工方法,这些单位将提供高质量的定制住宿,但可以在几周内在我们的工厂建成。
"我们正在取得巨大的进展,并期待着交付新的住宅,使其在秋季前为第一批年轻人的入住做好准备。"

看到它们如此迅速地成形,真是令人兴奋--在很短的时间内,一个家就被创造出来了。

上个月,团队中的一些人去参观了Integra工厂,看到这个愿景变成了现实。
联合社区首席执行官Oona Goldsworthy说。 "看着在工厂环境中建造的新住宅,对我来说是完全陌生的,但这肯定是我们未来的一部分。这31套住宅将离开工厂,在令人惊讶的12周内建成并准备入住。"

但在幕后,这一举措已经酝酿了两年,是许多团体的大量规划和投资的结果。只是作为这种伙伴关系的一个小试牛刀。

如果没有布里斯托尔市议会的政治支持和提供场地,这是不可能的。联合社区投入的资源和资金使这个雄心壮志成为现实。1625ip设计了这个非营利性倡议的自我管理模式,因此社区内各团体之间的融合是可能的,摆脱无家可归的年轻人将保持独立。大学为所有居民提供免费使用大学设施的机会,提供一些年轻人无法使用的设施,并提供直接克服 "学生化 "的机会。Alec French建筑事务所带来了他们的创新和战略设计技能。Studio Hive带来了他们在项目管理方面的专业知识。来自LandAid和Nationwide的资金为这项工作提供了资源。我们还得到了Bevan Brittan的支持,他们无偿提供了法律专业知识,以及许多其他布里斯托尔公司免费提供了他们的建议。
 

上个月对LaunchPad团队来说是一个很大的进步,对整个住房部门来说是一个令人兴奋的旅程的开始。该项目产生的宝贵证据将证明如何将新的住房解决方案付诸实施。 它当然具有未来复制的空间,可以在当地和全国范围内扩大规模。

在其他新闻中...
  • 2024年5月21日

    为了庆祝心理健康宣传月和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了我们的青年教育服务 (YES) 业务发展经理 Megs。在谈话中,我们探讨了 Meg 对支持年轻人的热情,以及她对教育在支持年轻人心理健康方面的关键作用的见解 […]

  • 2024年5月14日

    为了庆祝心理健康周和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了 Reboot West 的团队负责人。我们谈到了他们选择职业道路的原因、他们喜欢与年轻人一起工作的原因以及他们对面临心理健康挑战的年轻人的看法 […]

  • 第 5 次 3 月 2024

    布里斯托尔市政府和青年无家可归者慈善机构 1625 独立人士(1625)将携手为该市的年轻人建造更多新家园。理事会和 1625 将与年轻人共同设计,为准备独立生活的年轻人新建 8-10 处经济适用房。这些新住宅是[...]

  • 1st 3 月 2024

    在1625,我们满怀激情地致力于促进同事的成长和发展,使他们能够在职业生涯中脱颖而出。在我们最新一期的 "职业发展故事 "中,我们将介绍汉娜-格林(Building Futures Team Leader)的职业发展历程。"当我第一次申请 1625 的产假代班职位时,我认为这是一个 [...] 的机会。

Weld Shop (2) (1)

It’s exciting when you see a vision become a reality

20th February 2019

At LaunchPad our vision is to create a diverse, supportive and sustainable community that brings together Bristol University students, young people moving on from 1625 Independent People and key workers from the community. The Launch Pad team know that the foundation of this vision is a safe and secure home.

Launch Pad was developed to address the housing struggle faced by many people today. The lack of affordable housing close to employment opportunities has led to a steep increase in homelessness for young people. Young people face isolation, separation, and unaffordable rent, these issues demand innovation in housing design. The housing sector needs to build homes that create communities and provide an aspirational environment in which all people can achieve their goals and contribute to their community.
And so Launch Pad was born.

The design
We consulted with a wealth of knowledge and experience from housing organisations, architects, charities, universities, young people, students and communities. Through this process it was decided that not only would this be an innovative community, but it would be built using a different form of construction. The units are being built ‘off site’ by Integra Buildings in a factory in East Yorkshire. They are designed to look like shipping containers and everything inside is bespoke, with appliances integrated to make the most of the space. Each flat has a sleeping area, en-suite bathroom and kitchenette. They are designed for one person, with additional communal living spaces, utility rooms and garden.
The design involves pioneering high quality, low impact building techniques with good thermal performance and supports our aim of establishing positive relationships amongst the residents, with consideration given to shared gardens, social spaces and activity spaces.
 


Gary Parker, Managing Director of Integra Buildings, said: “We’re delighted to be bringing our cutting-edge modular building techniques to such an inspirational project as Launch Pad, which will make a crucial difference to many young peoples lives.
“Thanks to our innovative design and construction methods, the units will offer high-quality, bespoke accommodation, but can be built within a matter of weeks in our factory.
“We’re making great progress and look forward to delivering the new homes and making them ready for the first young people to move by the Autumn.”

It’s exciting to see them take shape so quickly – in a short space of time a home is created.

Some of the team went to visit the Integra factory last month, to see this vision come to reality.
Oona Goldsworthy, United Communities CEO said, “Watching the new homes being built in a factory setting was completely new to me, but is surely part of our future. The 31 homes will leave the factory and be up and ready to move in within an amazing 12 weeks”

But behind the scenes, this initiative has been two years in the making, and is the result of a lot of planning and investment from many groups. Just as a small taster of this partnership:

It wouldn’t be possible without Bristol City Council’s political backing and providing the site. The resource and funding invested from United Communities enables the ambition to become a reality. 1625ip has designed the self-management model of this non-profit initiative, so that integration between the groups in the community is possible, and young people moving on from homelessness will sustain independence. The University is offering free access to University facilities for all the residents, providing facilities that would otherwise be inaccessible to some young people, and an offer that directly overcomes ‘studentification’. Alec French Architects bring their innovative and strategic design skills. Studio Hive bring their expertise in project management. Funding from LandAid and Nationwide have provided resources for the work. We have also been supported by Bevan Brittan who offered their legal expertise pro-bono as well as many other Bristol companies who have provided their advice for free.
 

The last month has been a big step for the LaunchPad team, and the start of an exciting journey for the housing sector as a whole. The invaluable evidence generated from the project will demonstrate how to bring to life new housing solutions.  It certainly has scope for future replication for scaling up locally and nationally.

In other news...
  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]

  • 26th February 2024

    Confidence – Skills – Fulfilling lives “I have goals and ambitions – I actually feel like I can do it now” “The support I have received has been more than just a step to a career path. My work with my Reboot West Coach has been substantial to me understanding that I am capable and […]

  • 23rd February 2024

    This February, we’re proudly celebrating LGBT+ History Month. Recognising the importance of supporting our LGBTQ+ colleagues and the young people in our services, we stand committed to fostering an inclusive and supportive environment. Elsie Ridley, a member of our Peer Queer Group, shares her story below: “After the news of Brianna Ghey’s murder broke, I […]