结束青少年无家可归现象 "推出影片,展示 "转变未来 "计划的影响

2019 年 2 月 20 日

去年,英国有10.3万名年轻人因无家可归或面临无家可归的风险而向其议会寻求帮助。[1].

由H&M基金会资助并在2016年启动的 "转变未来计划",通过帮助他们就业,支持弱势年轻人打破无家可归的循环。

迄今为止,1625独立人士组织已经为布里斯托尔的125名年轻人在获得就业、教育和培训机会的道路上提供支持。

为庆祝该计划的成功,一部讲述3名接受支持的年轻人的鼓舞人心的旅程的电影正在发行。

[1] 中心点(2018年)让无家可归的年轻人算数。英国青年无家可归的规模

这部影片讲述了包括杰斯在内的三名年轻人的鼓舞人心的故事,他们在 "转变未来 "计划中得到了1625独立人士的支持。通过就业指导员马克的悉心指导、理解和支持,杰斯成功地报名参加了大学课程并获得了定期的志愿工作经验。这部由Amity Films制作的影片指出了为弱势年轻人提供专门的教育、就业和培训的必要性,以及这对帮助年轻人改变生活的巨大积极影响。
 
该计划提供一个专业的就业能力计划,帮助布里斯托尔以前无家可归的年轻人就业。该计划包括量身定制的一对一支持;旨在打破年轻人在获得教育、就业和培训途径方面的经济障碍的助学金计划;以及为就业机会提供即时专家建议的数字职业平台。该计划由H&M基金会资助,由四个英国慈善机构--1625独立人、阿伯丁门厅、本杰明基金会、环岛--提供服务,这些机构都是中心点发起的英国范围内结束青年无家可归运动的一部分。
 
"看到 "转变未来 "计划中的年轻人实现了他们的目标并摆脱了无家可归的状态,我们深受鼓舞。获得教育、就业和培训是迈向独立生活的重要步骤,我们很高兴H&M基金会的捐赠有助于为年轻人提供所需的工具,使他们能够迈向可持续的未来,拥有自己的家和工作。
 
46%的无家可归的年轻人说,没有合适的资格是获得工作的障碍,42%说,没有合适的工作经验是一个障碍。[2].无家可归的年轻人也是英国最边缘化和最受社会排斥的人群之一。不稳定的家庭和露宿街头的经历使他们面临复杂的问题。通过帮助年轻人接受教育、就业和培训,并使他们掌握生活和工作技能,他们可以获得建立可持续未来所需的工具。
 
"年轻人的无家可归对他们的就业前景和经济稳定造成了极为不利的影响,而且也影响了他们实现自己抱负的信心和自信心。我们相信,每个人都有权利实现他们的全部潜力,并作为独立的成年人茁壮成长。H&M基金会的资助使我们能够利用年轻人的技能、优势和才能,并给予他们相信自己的信心。通过工作教练对培训和技能发展的支持,年轻人可以获得在未来维持独立的工具。" 1625独立人士组织的首席执行官Dom Wood说。
 
"我们对这部影片的发行感到非常兴奋,它庆祝了 "转变未来计划 "对年轻人生活产生的不可思议的影响。通过这个由H&M基金会资助的专门的就业计划,弱势年轻人有机会通过获得对建立成功的未来至关重要的就业途径来打破无家可归的循环。我们为这部影片中的年轻人取得的成就和他们的就业指导员提供的改变生活的支持感到非常自豪,这表明 "转变未来计划 "在帮助年轻人永远摆脱无家可归方面是多么重要。
 

[2] 中心点(2015)支持处境不利的年轻人赚钱或学习

在其他新闻中...
  • 2024年6月7日

    为了庆祝志愿者周(2024 年 6 月 3 日至 9 日),我们采访了 Jamelia 和 Julie,听她们分享了她们参加 1625 志愿者社区辅导计划的历程。请观看以下视频:您能成为年轻人的导师吗?在此查看我们的志愿服务和辅导机会。

  • 2024年5月21日

    为了庆祝心理健康宣传月和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了我们的青年教育服务 (YES) 业务发展经理 Megs。在谈话中,我们探讨了 Meg 对支持年轻人的热情,以及她对教育在支持年轻人心理健康方面的关键作用的见解 […]

  • 2024年5月14日

    为了庆祝心理健康周和 Big Give 的 Kind2Mind 筹款活动启动(2024 年 5 月 14 日至 28 日),我们采访了 Reboot West 的团队负责人。我们谈到了他们选择职业道路的原因、他们喜欢与年轻人一起工作的原因以及他们对面临心理健康挑战的年轻人的看法 […]

  • 第 5 次 3 月 2024

    布里斯托尔市政府和青年无家可归者慈善机构 1625 独立人士(1625)将携手为该市的年轻人建造更多新家园。理事会和 1625 将与年轻人共同设计,为准备独立生活的年轻人新建 8-10 处经济适用房。这些新住宅是[...]

End Youth Homelessness launches film showcasing impact of Transforming Futures Programme

20th February 2019

103,000 young people sought help from their council as they were homeless or at risk of homelessness in the UK last year[1].

The Transforming Futures Programme, funded by the H&M Foundation and launched in 2016, supports vulnerable young people to break the cycle of homelessness by helping them into work.

To date, 1625 Independent People has supported 125 young people in Bristol on their journey to accessing employment, education and training opportunities.

To celebrate the success of the programme, a film following the inspirational journeys of 3 young people who received support is being released.

[1] Centrepoint (2018) Making homeless young people count: The scale of youth homelessness in the UK

The film follows the inspirational stories of 3 young people, including Jess, who received support from 1625 Independent People on the Transforming Futures Programme. Through the dedicated mentoring, understanding and support of her Job Coach Mark, Jess successfully enrolled on a college course and secured regular voluntary work experience. The film produced by Amity Films identifies the necessity of dedicated education, employment and training provision for vulnerable young people, and the overwhelmingly positive impact this can have in helping turn a young person’s life around.
 
The programme delivers a specialist employability scheme that helps formerly homeless young people in Bristol into work. It incorporates tailored one-to-one support; a bursary scheme aimed at breaking down financial barriers facing young people in accessing education, employment and training pathways; and a digital careers platform that offers instant expert advice for employment opportunities. The programme is funded by the H&M Foundation and delivered by four UK charities– 1625 Independent People, Aberdeen Foyer, Benjamin Foundation, Roundabout – all part of UK-wide movement End Youth Homelessness, launched by Centrepoint.
 
“We are so inspired to see the young people in the Transforming Futures programme achieving their goals and moving themselves out of homelessness. Accessing education, employment and training are essential steps towards an independent life and we are happy that the donation from H&M Foundation is contributing to giving the young the tools needed to move onto a sustainable future with a home and a job of their own.” says Carola Tembe, Program Manager, H&M Foundation.
 
46% of homeless young people say that not having the right qualifications is a barrier to getting a job and 42% say that not having the right work experience is a barrier[2]. Homeless young people are also some of the most marginalised and socially excluded in the UK. Unstable families and experiences of sleeping on the streets leave them with complex issues. By helping young people into education, employment and training as well as equipping them with life and work skills, they can obtain the tools they need to build sustainable futures.
 
“Homelessness in young people leads to extremely detrimental effects on their employment prospects and economic stability, but also their confidence and self-belief in reaching their ambitions. We believe that everyone has the right to achieve their full potential, and to thrive as independent adults. Funding from the H&M Foundation allows to us leverage the skills, strengths and talent in young people and gives them the confidence to believe in themselves. Through the Job Coach support with training and skills development, young people can gain the tools for sustaining independence in the future.” says Dom Wood, CEO of 1625 Independent People.
 
“We are hugely excited for the release of this film celebrating the incredible impact that the Transforming Futures Programme has had on the lives of young people. Through this dedicated employment programme funded by the H&M Foundation, vulnerable young people have the chance to break the cycle of homelessness by accessing employment pathways that are crucial to building a successful future. We are so proud of the young people featured in this film for their achievements and their Job Coaches for their life-changing support, which shows how vital the Transforming Futures Programme is in helping young people escape homelessness for good.” says Nick Connolly, Managing Director of End Youth Homelessness.
 

[2] Centrepoint (2015) Supporting disadvantaged young people to earn or learn

In other news...
  • 21st May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for […]

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]

  • 1st March 2024

    At 1625, we are passionately dedicated to fostering the growth and development of our colleagues, empowering them to excel in their careers. Explore Hannah Green’s (Building Futures Team Leader) journey in our latest instalment of ‘Career Progression Stories.’ “When I first applied for a maternity cover position at 1625, I saw it as a chance […]