庆祝志愿者周;我们的志愿者故事

2019年2月20日

从我们的志愿者的经历中了解成为一名1625ip志愿者的真实情况。

认识凯萨琳,年轻有为的导师

你为什么要做志愿者?
我想做志愿者,因为我在生活中遇到过困难,但我很幸运地得到了周围的支持。我想利用我的经验来帮助那些没有得到支持的年轻人,并为他们提供帮助。

你在1625ip担任什么志愿服务角色?
我是青年雄心项目的就业、教育和培训导师,这意味着我可以为年轻人提供一个可靠和积极的榜样。我利用我的工作和生活经验,鼓励我的被指导者寻找他们以前可能没有想过的机会,并帮助他们探索这些机会。

作为一个组织,你最喜欢1625年的什么?
我喜欢这样一个事实,即这是一个积极的、主动的慈善机构,它超越了为有需要的年轻人提供住房的最初问题,并从整体角度看待问题。充满爱心和热情的工作人员所提供的帮助和支持确实令人鼓舞,令人心动。

认识汉娜,年轻有为的行业专家

是什么吸引你加入1625ip的志愿服务?
我想利用我在人力资源部门工作的一些技能,为那些面临工作障碍的年轻人提供帮助。 在见到1625ip的一些员工后,我对该组织和他们的工作方式印象深刻,我知道这对我来说是一个很好的选择。

你从1625ip的志愿服务中获得了什么?
它使我看到了年轻人可能面临的挑战,并使我在日常生活的不同领域获得了信心。

作为1625ip的志愿者,您对提供给您的培训和支持有什么看法?
1625ip的培训真的很有见地,我学到了很多关于我自己以及如何与年轻人进行良好的沟通。我觉得如果我有任何担忧,1625ip会提供支持来帮助我。

认识罗斯,董事会成员

你为什么要做志愿者?
在我的职业生涯中,我主要是在一个需要克服当前住房危机和无家可归者水平上升的部门工作,我想利用我的技能和知识来支持一个具有共同价值观的组织,1625在为年轻人提供住房和支持服务方面所做的工作是非常宝贵的。
 
你最喜欢1625ip这个组织的什么?
在我为1625工作期间,我目睹了工作人员的纯粹热情和承诺,这绝对是惊人的,令人难以置信的感染力,1625ip是一个拥有奇妙的文化和对他们所做工作的热情的组织。

认识托尼,社区指导员

你会如何向朋友描述在1625ip的志愿工作?
指导年轻人可以像再次经历那些时刻,同时努力保持冷静。一个学习的经验,总是有收获的。

你为什么要做志愿者?
我记得那些为我准备好了我所回避或不知道会发生的事情的人。他们帮助我通过避开最坏的情况,同时去寻找未知的东西,从而拥有一个漫长而令人兴奋的生活。他们给了我对人类和自己的信心,我希望能以类似的方式帮助他人。 

在其他新闻中...
  • 第11个月 2021年

    最近,我们的总部Kingsley Hall进行了一次亟需的改造,这要感谢我们一些了不起的企业志愿者。在此特别感谢。Barratt Homes Deloitte Hargreaves Lansdown Ian Williams

  • 第22届10月 2021年

    我们总是被我们的支持者给予我们1625独立人士的巨大决心和支持所震惊。这次 "露宿 "活动再次取得了巨大的成功。我们已经筹集了约30,000英镑(还有更多),并度过了一个美好的夜晚(尽管非常寒冷)。要特别感谢的是。启迪琥珀音频 [...]

  • 第20届10月 2021年

      我们非常高兴地庆祝圣乔治之家的团队在布里斯托尔青年英雄奖中获得了团队英雄奖。自己看吧--跳到2小时28分35秒--你会感到自豪的。2021年布里斯托尔青年英雄奖 - YouTube和观看他们 [...]

  • 第10个月 2021年

    混乱中的安慰》于2021年9月18日星期六在布里斯托尔的1532艺术中心首演,这是一场精彩的演出。"这场晚会走的是一条棘手的道路,既要对困难和痛苦的话题提出不留情面的第一手见解,又要在面临[...]的情况下坚持希望和复原力的信息。

Celebrating Volunteers Week; our volunteers stories

20th February 2019

Find out what it’s really like to be a 1625ip Volunteer from our volunteers’ experiences!

Meet Katharine, Young Ambition Mentor

Why do you volunteer?
I wanted to volunteer as I have experienced difficulties in my life but have been lucky enough to have support around me. I wanted to use my experience to help and be there for a young person that doesn’t have support.

What volunteering role do you hold with 1625ip?
I’m an Employment, Education and Training mentor on the Young Ambition Project which means I can provide a reliable and positive role model for a young person. I use my work and life experience to encourage my mentee to seek out opportunities they may not have thought about before and help them to explore these.

What do you like most about 1625 up as an organisation?
I love the fact that this is such a positive, proactive charity that looks beyond the initial issue of housing for young people in need and looks at things from a holistic view. The help and support given by caring, passionate staff is truly inspiring and heart-warming.

Meet Hannah, Young Ambition Industry Expert

What attracted you to volunteering with 1625ip?
I wanted to use some of my skills from working in Human Resources in a way that may be useful to young people who face barriers to getting work.  Having met some of the staff from 1625ip I have been so impressed the organisation and the way they work that I knew it would be a good fit for me.

What have you gained from volunteering at 1625ip?
It has opened my eyes to the challenges that young people can face and given me confidence in a difference area to my day to day life.

What are your thoughts on the training and support offered to you as a volunteer at 1625ip?
The training at 1625ip was really insightful and I learnt a lot about myself as well as how to communicate well with young people. I feel that if I ever had any concerns, there is support at 1625ip to help with that.

Meet Rose, Board Member

Why do you volunteer?
Having worked predominately throughout my career in a sector which is driven by the need to overcome the current housing crises and rising levels of homelessness, I wanted to use my skills and knowledge to support an organisation with shared values, the work undertaken by 1625 in providing both housing and support services for young people is invaluable.
 
What do you like most about 1625ip as an organisation?
The sheer passion and commitment I have witnessed during my time with 1625 by staff is absolutely phenomenal and incredibly infectious, 1625ip is an organisation with a fantastic culture and passion for what they do.

Meet Tony, Community Mentor

How would you describe volunteering with 1625ip to a friend?
Mentoring youngsters can be like living those moments again while trying to stay calm. A learning experience, always rewarding.

Why do you volunteer?
I remember those who prepared me for what I shied away from or didn’t know was coming. They helped me have a long, exciting life by avoiding the worst while going for the unknown. They gave me faith in humanity and myself, and I hope to help others in similar ways. 

In other news...
  • 7th June 2024

    In celebration of Volunteer’s Week (3-9 June 2024) we sat down with Jamelia and Julie as they shared their journey in our 1625 Volunteer Community Mentoring Programme. Watch below: Could you be a mentor to a young person? Check out our volunteering and mentoring opportunities here.

  • 21st May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Awareness Month and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed Megs, the Business Development Manager for our Youth Education Service (YES). During our conversation, we explored Meg’s passion for supporting young people and her insights on education’s crucial role in supporting mental health for […]

  • 14th May 2024

    In celebration of Mental Health Week and the launch of Big Give’s Kind2Mind fundraising campaign (14-28 May 2024), we interviewed the Team Leader for Reboot West. We spoke about why they decided on their career path, what they enjoy about working with young people and their thoughts on mental health challenges among young people facing […]

  • 5th March 2024

    Bristol City Council and youth homelessness charity 1625 Independent People (1625) are coming together to create more new homes for young people in the city. Co-designed with young people, the council and 1625 are partnering to create 8-10 new affordable homes for young people who are ready to live independently. The new homes are a […]