查理的故事

 

呈现的问题是什么?

查理来到SGH后,他的父母要求他离开,原因是照顾家庭的责任造成了家庭内部的压力,这意味着他无法为家庭收入做出贡献。之后,查理在紧急住所和临时住所度过了一段时间。查理是他弟弟的全职照顾者,他自己也有学习困难。查理的弟弟住在紧急合住处,查理不得不每天步行去帮助他。他弟弟的住所不适合他的需要,因此查理很难完全支持他弟弟。

 

我们做了什么?

首先,我们帮助查理申请照顾者津贴和通用信贷,使他的收入最大化,并让他了解福利制度和他的权利,然后查理利用这些获得的知识,帮助他的兄弟也申请适当的福利。我们将查理转介给照顾者中心,以获得作为照顾者的进一步支持,并帮助他和他哥哥满足他们的需要。查理随后与他的兄弟交谈,他的兄弟同意我们与他的支助/住房工作人员交谈。

我们设法证明了他哥哥目前所住的房子不合适,并让他搬到了更合适的住所。我们成功地申请了一笔助学金,帮助查理购买公共汽车票、防水衣服和背包,这样他就能更好地支持他的兄弟,携带他的物品,并有适合天气的衣服。我们证明查理是他哥哥的照顾者,因此是关键工作者,所以他可以在大流行病期间继续支持他哥哥的住宿。查理的目标是与他的兄弟住在一起,这样他就可以成为他的照顾者并有一些喘息的机会,而不必每天长途跋涉去做这些事情。我们整理了证据,提出了理由,写信给理事会,并成功地通过HomeChoice为兄弟俩申请到了一起生活。查理随后被搬到一个合适的临时住所,与他的兄弟一起生活,同时他们正在等待市政府的房子。

 

这名年轻人表现出了哪些优势?

查理对他的弟弟表现出了很强的适应能力和令人钦佩的关怀品质。他每天早上4点起床,每天去清真寺,然后照顾他的弟弟直到晚上10点。查理表现出强烈的社区和家庭意识,他有朋友和社区成员向他寻求支持,他们也会向他寻求支持和建议。查理总是参与支持和关键的工作会议,他在需要的时候寻求帮助,并且能够确定自己的目标并为之努力。

 

我们的干预产生了什么不同?

我们的干预意味着查理能够与他的兄弟生活在一起,成为他的照顾者,在这方面得到适当的支持,最大限度地提高他和他兄弟的收入,更接近他的支持网络和社区,并且知道他有发言权,会被倾听。

Charlie’s Story

 

What was the presenting issue?

Charlie came to SGH after his parents asked him to leave due to caring responsibilities that caused pressures within the family home, which meant he was not able to contribute to the household income. Charlie then spent time in emergency accommodations and crash pads. Charlie was a full-time carer for his brother and had a learning difficulty himself. Charlie’s brother was living in emergency shared accommodation which Charlie had to walk to every day to help him. His brother’s accommodation was unsuitable for his needs and Charlie was struggling to fully support his brother due to this.

 

What did we do?

Firstly, we helped Charlie apply for Carers Allowance and Universal Credit to maximise his income and give him the knowledge of the benefits system and his entitlements, Charlie then used this gained knowledge to help his brother apply for the appropriate benefits too. We referred Charlie to Carers Direct for further support with being a carer and to help him and his brother with their needs. Charlie then spoke to his brother who gave us consent to speak to his support/housing workers.

We managed to prove the unsuitability of the current property his brother was in and got him moved to more suitable accommodation. We successfully applied for a bursary to help buy Charlie bus tickets, waterproof clothes, and a backpack, so he was more able to support his brother, carry his belongings around, and have appropriate clothing for the weather. We proved Charlie was his brother’s carer, and therefore a key worker, so he could carry on supporting his brother in the accommodation during the pandemic. Charlie’s goal was to live with his brother so he could be his carer and have some respite, without having to travel long journeys every day to do this. We compiled evidence, made a case, wrote to the council, and successfully managed to apply for the brothers to live together via HomeChoice. Charlie was then moved into a suitable temporary accommodation with his brother whilst they are waiting for their council house together.

 

What strengths did the young person demonstrate?

Charlie showed a lot of resilience and admirable caring qualities towards his brother. He woke up at 4 am every day, went to Mosque daily and then cared for his brother until 10 pm every evening. Charlie showed a strong sense of community and family, he had friends and members of the community he went to for support, and they would go to him for support and advice also. Charlie always engaged with support and key work sessions, he asked for help when he needed it, and was able to identify his goals and work towards them.

 

What difference did our intervention make?

Our intervention meant that Charlie was able to live with his brother, be a carer for him, get the appropriate support with this, maximise both his and his brother’s incomes, be closer to his support network and community, and know that he has a voice and will be listened to.