阿夫申的故事

呈现的问题是什么?

Afshin(不是他的真名)是由社会服务部门转到1625ip的,因为他是作为国家转移计划的一部分来到该县的,并被安置在寄养家庭。 Afshin当时17岁,似乎对发生在他身上的事情感到不知所措和迷茫。 阿夫申对他所在的寄养机构感到挣扎,不觉得寄养者特别关心他,有时觉得他们很残忍。 他被从寄养机构带走,并被安置在一个辅助住房计划中的临时住所。

 

我们做了什么?

无家可归者支助工作者与阿夫申会面,评估他的需求并开始与他建立信任关系。 他们建议Afshin可以考虑在1625ip的支持性住宿计划中安排一个专门的UASC安置,这样可以给他更多的安全感。 阿夫申同意与住在布里斯托尔中心附近的穆斯林寄宿家庭见面。 最初的会面非常积极,匹配过程也开始了。 今年2月初,阿夫申搬进了寄宿家庭。

 

像大多数UASC的年轻人一样,Afshin不得不多次重复他寻求庇护的故事,并且在与他的律师见面时不得不详细地讲述。 这些故事不可避免地具有创伤性,对阿夫申来说,这对他的心理健康产生了不利的影响。 UASC支持工作者鼓励阿夫申考虑获得专业的精神健康(创伤后应激障碍)支持,最终他同意了。 他们一起完成了创伤评估,将他转介到该服务机构。

这名年轻人表现出了哪些优势?

阿夫申在面对逆境时表现出了真正的韧性。 在经历了如此多的创伤和在寄养家庭的负面经历之后,他愿意再次信任。 阿夫申愿意尝试在支持性住宿中的安置,并着手与他的寄宿家庭建立积极的关系。 这给了他所需要的稳定性,使他感到能够获得有关心理健康的支持,并开始解决他所经历的创伤。 这对一个UASC的年轻人来说是特别积极的,因为一般来说,心理健康和有心理健康问题的想法要么是一个新的概念,他们很难找到合适的语言,要么是与他们的文化有负面的含义。

 

我们的干预产生了什么不同?

当UASC支持人员询问阿夫申对他从UASC项目中得到的支持有何感受时,他说:"我非常非常感谢你们为我找到的这个新地方"。

Afshin’s Story

What was the presenting issue?

Afshin (not his real name) was referred to 1625ip by social services as he had arrived in the county as a part of the National transfer scheme and was placed in foster care.  Afshin was 17 years old and appeared to be overwhelmed and uncertain by what was happening to him.  Afshin struggled with the foster care placement he was in and didn’t feel that the foster carers particularly cared for him and at times felt they were cruel.  He was removed from foster care and placed in a crash pad within a supported housing scheme.

 

What did we do?

The UASC support worker met with Afshin to assess his needs and start building a trusting relationship with him.  It was suggested that Afshin may wish to consider a specialist UASC placement within 1625ip’s Supported Lodgings Scheme and that this may give him more of sense of safety and security.  Afshin agreed to meet the Supported Lodgings host family who are Muslim and live near the centre of Bristol.  The initial meeting was very positive, and the matching process began.  Afshin moved in with the host family at the beginning of February this year.

 

Afshin, like most UASC young people, has had to repeat his story of seeking asylum several times and when meeting his solicitor had to do this in some detail.  These stories are inevitably traumatic and for Afshin this had a detrimental impact on his mental health.  The UASC support worker encouraged Afshin to consider accessing specialist mental health (PTSD) support and eventually he agreed.  Together they completed the trauma assessment to refer him into the service.

What strengths did the young person demonstrate?

Afshin has shown some true resilience in the face of adversity.  He has been willing to trust again after experiencing so much trauma and having a negative experience in foster care.  Afshin was willing to try a placement within Supported Lodgings and has set about building a positive relationship with his host family.  This has given him the stability he needs to feel able to access support around his mental health and begin to address the trauma he has been through.  This is especially positive for a UASC young person as generally the idea of mental health and having mental health issues is either a new concept to which they struggle to find the language for or has a negative connotation with their culture.

 

What difference did our intervention make?

When the UASC support worker asked Afshin about how he feels in respect of the support he has received from the UASC project he said, “I thank you very, very much for this new place you found me”.