韦恩的故事

探索韦恩的价值观的工作是变革性的。"在亚当,我的重启教练之前,我有点害怕,想我该怎么办,我的生活该怎么办。但是和亚当在一起,他有点像在塑造我,让我过上更好的生活,把我推向正确的方向,让我真正享受生活。"

在过去的两年里,韦恩一直参与1625ip的Reboot West活动。他有精神健康和抑郁症方面的问题,由于他的焦虑,一直在努力寻找工作。他的健康和福祉对他来说是很不重要的,他经常诉诸于呆在家里,并没有很好地照顾自己。

 

我们做了什么?

重振工作者与韦恩的第一步是利用重振西区团队擅长的ACT(接受和承诺疗法),对他的健康和福祉进行工作。他们一起围绕他的价值观开展工作,并制定计划,努力实现这些价值观,例如健身的价值,所以他参加了健身房,支持性的价值,所以他在162ip做志愿者,帮助招聘员工,并在焦点小组做志愿者。

最近,韦恩开始在一家食品银行做志愿者,因为他想回馈他们,因为他们在这次科威德大流行期间帮助了他,为他的价值观而努力。韦恩的情况好了很多,他自己也照顾得很好,他的焦虑感也减少了。

 

他表现出什么优势?

韦恩表现出他有能力在有机会的情况下做事情。支持工作者和年轻人高度重视他的意见,而且他能与他人很好地沟通和合作。

 

我们的干预产生了什么不同?

韦恩的健康和福祉得到了显著改善,他在未来找到工作的前景也得到了改善,因为他正在用工作经验积累他的简历。

WAYNE’S STORY

Work to explore Wayne’s values was transformational. “Before Adam, my Reboot Coach, I was a bit scared and thinking what am I gonna do, what am I gonna do with my life. But with Adam, he’s sort of modelling me to get a better life, pushing me in the right direction to actually enjoy life.”

Wayne has been involved with Reboot West at 1625ip for the last two years. He has issues around mental health and depression and has been struggling to find work due to his anxiety. His health and wellbeing were low priortities for him, he often resorted to staying at home, and did not look after himself very well.

 

What did we do?

The Reboot Worker’s first step with Wayne was to work on his health and wellbeing, using ACT (Acceptance and Commitment Therapy) which the Reboot West team specialise in. Together they did work around his values and established plans to would work towards these values, such as the value of fitness, so he attends the gym, and supportiveness, so he has volunteered at 162ip helping the recruitment of staff and volunteering with focus groups.

More recently, Wayne has begun volunteering at a food bank because he wanted to give back to them as they have helped him, during this Covid Pandemic, working towards his values. Wayne is in a lot better place and is looking after himself a lot better, and his anxiety has reduced.

 

What strengths did he demonstrate?

Wayne showed he has the ability to do things when given a chance. Support Workers and young people highly regard his opinion, and he can communicate and work well with others.

 

What difference did our intervention make?

Wayne’ health and wellbeing has improved significantly, as well as his prospects of finding work in the future as he is building up his CV with work experience.