莉莎的故事

"同伴教育帮助我,让我感到乐观,让我对自己更有信心。我真的很喜欢提高对青年无家可归问题的认识。"

 

丽莎是一个聪明而活泼的24岁女孩,她最近提出要成为一名同伴教育者。她已经成为1625ip服务的使用者多年,最初从我们的布里斯托尔团队获得住房支持,Lisa现在在更广泛的布里斯托尔地区,从我们的南格洛斯特郡团队获得支持。

丽莎积极主动,热衷于参与其中,自11月中旬我们初次见面以来,她已经帮助共同完成了令人印象深刻的9次课程。她已经迅速成为我们同伴教育项目的核心贡献者,并且一直在思考新的、创新的方法来发展我们的工作,使参加我们课程的年轻人受益。

 

1625年以前ip

丽莎已经克服了她个人生活中的一些挑战,并在面对逆境时表现出了极大的韧性。她坦诚地分享了她在心理健康方面的动荡经历,她认为这部分是由于在获得1625ip的服务之前,严重缺乏支持。

丽莎描述了在就业和住房问题上的挣扎,并评论说这两个领域的成功通常取决于另一个领域的顺利进行。她自豪地回顾了她以前在零售业和房地产代理公司担任的管理职务,并公开讨论了她的雇主在提供心理健康支持方面的不足。

最终,Lisa达到了危机,她的健康状况出现了转折,导致她不得不离开她的工作,并随后离开了她的私人出租公寓。丽莎搬到了家里,并寻求心理健康支持,尽管她在这方面的经验不尽相同。

 

同龄人教育

丽莎解释说,她参与同伴教育的主要原因是为了满足她在没有全职工作的情况下参与日常活动的需要。

'我觉得该组织是我投入时间的最佳场所。

 

丽莎注意到她是如何通过回馈1625ip和更广泛的社会而受到激励的,她还承认同伴教育使她个人受益的方式。

同侪教育帮助我给予我乐观的态度,使我对自己更有信心。我非常喜欢提高对青年无家可归问题的认识。

 

丽莎还提到,自从参与这个项目以来,她与他人合作的能力有所提高。她有能力调整她的表达方式,并与她所合作的人建立融洽的关系,这一点我立刻就看出来了。丽莎有能力凭直觉读懂一个房间的能量,知道如何调整她的沟通以适应班级的需要。

她向我解释说,能够提高人们对1625ip和青年无家可归问题的认识是件好事,并认为该项目对年轻人有很多好处。

经历问题的年轻人可以感觉到他们有地方可去,并得到倾听和支持......以及他们可以获得这种帮助的地方。

 

未来的目标

丽莎决心利用她的生活经验,并利用它们来赋予他人权力。她有志于为年轻人工作,可能是为青年罪犯提供支持,并认识到同伴教育有利于实现这一目标。

我的职业正朝着这个方向发展,所以它(同伴教育)是有意义的。我希望我能够改变年轻人对社会的看法,以及他们相应的行为方式。

 

忠于她积极主动的天性,丽莎已经有一个行动计划来帮助她实现这个目标。她已被开放大学录取,从2月份开始攻读犯罪学和心理学学位,并对有一个新的生活重心感到乐观。

LISA’S STORY

“Peer Ed has helped me to give me optimism and make me feel more confident in myself. I really enjoy raising awareness of youth homelessness.”

 

Lisa is a bright and bubbly 24-year-old who recently put herself forward to become a Peer Educator. She has been a 1625ip service user for many years, originally accessing housing support from our Bristol team, Lisa is now based in the wider Bristol area and accesses support from our South Gloucestershire team.

Proactive and keen to get involved, Lisa has already helped to co-deliver an impressive 9 sessions since our initial meeting mid-November. She has quickly become a core contributor to our Peer Education program and is forever thinking of new, innovative ways for which to develop our work to best benefit the young people attending our sessions.

 

Before 1625ip

Lisa has overcome several challenges in her personal life and has shown great resilience in the face of adversity. She has candidly shared her experiences of turbulent mental health that she in part attributes to a severe lack of support prior to accessing the services of 1625ip.

Lisa describes struggling with issues concerning both employment and housing, and comments on how success in either area typically depends on the other also going well. She reflects proudly upon managerial roles she previously held within retail and at an estate agent and is open in discussing how her employers fell short in providing mental health support.

Ultimately Lisa reached crisis when her wellbeing took a turn for the worse which resulted in her having to leave her job and subsequently her privately rented flat. Lisa moved in with family and sought mental health support, although her experience of such has been mixed.

 

Peer Education

Lisa explains how her primary reason for engaging with Peer Education was to fulfil her need to engage in daily activity in the absence of a full-time job.

‘I feel like the organisation was the best place to put my time into.’

 

Noting how she is motivated by giving back to both 1625ip and wider society, Lisa also acknowledges ways in which Peer Education has benefited her personally.

‘Peer Ed has helped me to give me optimism and make me feel more confident in myself. I really enjoy raising awareness of youth homelessness.’

 

Lisa also mentions an improved ability to work with others since engaging with the project. Her ability to adapt her delivery and build rapport with whomever she works with was evident to me immediately. Lisa has the ability to read the energy of a room intuitively, knowing just how to adapt her communication to suit the needs of the class.

She explains to me how it’s nice to be raising awareness of 1625ip and youth homelessness, and believes the project has a lot to offer young people.

‘Young people going through issues can feel that they have somewhere to go and be listened to and supported…and where they can access that help.’

 

Future Goals

Lisa has a determination to take her life experiences and use them to empower others. She has aspirations of working with young people, possibly Young Offenders, in a support capacity and acknowledges how Peer Education is conducive to this.

‘My career is heading in this direction so it (Peer Ed) makes sense. I hope I can change Young People’s views towards society and how they behave accordingly.’

 

True to her proactive nature, Lisa already has an action plan in place to help her achieve this goal. She is enrolled with the Open University to study for a degree in Criminology & Psychology starting February and is positive about having a new focus in life.