凯拉的故事

我为自己和我所取得的成就感到骄傲

 

呈现的问题是什么?

凯拉有很强的职业道德,已经在工作,但由于持续的焦虑,有可能会失去工作。她通常只能在一份工作中呆上几个月,然后在自己的生活中出现危机,导致焦虑增加,并经常酗酒或吸毒。

 

我们做了什么?

我们做了一个 "价值 "探索(使用接受和承诺疗法),发现什么是重要的,凯拉希望在她的生活中拥有什么。我们确定了信任、尊重和冒险,并支持她采取新的行动--搬进自己的住所、申请前景更好的新工作、去度假、优先考虑健康和享受乐趣。

 

这名年轻人表现出了哪些优势?

凯拉表现出了勇气和韧性,在一个关键的周年纪念日,她与她的1625ip Reboot教练谈到了父母自杀的影响。这是凯拉的一个转折点,当她需要支持时,她开始对生活中的人更加开放。

 

我们的干预产生了什么不同?

凯拉对她认识的人变得更加坦诚,让他们知道她不舒服的时候。她在工作中遇到困难时没有离开,并变得更善于照顾自己。

KAYLA’S STORY

I am proud of myself and how much I’ve achieved

 

What was the presenting issue?

Kayla has a strong work ethic and was already in work but was at risk of losing job due to ongoing anxiety. She usually only managed to stay in a job for a few months before a crisis in her own life led to an increase in anxiety and often a drink or drugs binge.

 

What did we do?

We did a ‘values’ exploration (using Acceptance and Commitment Therapy), finding what was important and what Kayla wanted to have in her life. Trust, Respect, Adventure were identified and have underpinned her taking new actions – moving into her own accommodation, applying for new job with better prospects, going on holiday and prioritising wellbeing and having fun.

 

What strengths did the young person demonstrate?

Kayla showed courage and resilience, and at a key anniversary talked to her 1625ip Reboot Coach about the impact of a parent’s suicide. This was a turning point in Kayla as she started to be more open to people in her life, when she needed support.

 

What difference did our intervention make?

Kayla has become more open with people she knows, letting them know when she’s not okay. She has managed difficulties at work without leaving and become better at looking after herself.