凯蒂的故事

一个年轻人的故事,她曾被寄养了很长时间,然后在18岁时,她在沙发上冲浪。她现在参与了1625ip的许多活动,并喜欢住在一个共用的房子里。

 

当我第一次来到1625独立人士(1625ip)时,我已经在6个月前离开了寄养家庭,并搬回了我母亲家。然而,我和我母亲的生活状况确实不理想。由于我在寄养家庭呆了很长时间,我们遇到了很多挑战。我开始在一个朋友的地方进行沙发冲浪,因此一个朋友建议我去Youth MAPS。我去了那里,他们询问了我的情况,然后向我解释了我的选择。在这之后,我接到了1625ip宿舍的电话,他们告诉我那里有一个位置给我。我松了一口气,因为我需要这个空间,而且我想不再像我在沙发上冲浪时那样依赖别人。

我在宿舍里有自己的房间,我很庆幸自己没有流落街头或在沙发上冲浪,但有时也很艰难。我确实有一些动力和关于我想做什么的想法,但说实话,我很难适应这个环境,我对自己的未来没有信心。

几个月后,我得以搬进1625ip的合租房,这就是我现在的位置。当我搬进合租房时,我真正参与了1625ip的活动和服务。我真的很有动力去做事情,并且总是确保我准时参加会议。我成为了青年委员会的一员,在那里我们讨论如何改善对年轻人的服务。我在技能厨房学习了一些烹饪技能,并参加了戏剧和艺术课程,这些课程帮助我提高自信,而且非常有趣我还获得了一些资格证书--我刚刚完成了数学三级考试,我参加了 "创意领袖 "通信和媒体课程,我还完成了 "紧急急救",我觉得这非常有趣。

在我现在的房子里,我喜欢厨房,因为我可以练习我的烹饪技巧,并且有空间保持它的清洁和有序。我喜欢它给我带来的独立性,而且我喜欢和住在那里的其他人一起打造一个 "家 "的感觉。

在未来,我想有一份支持工作者的工作--人们告诉我,我会很擅长这个工作!我特别想在LGBTQ社区工作。我特别想在LGBTQ社区工作。我也希望有一天能有一个家庭和自己的房子,但现在,我很高兴。我非常喜欢与1625ip的接触活动,以及作为青年委员会成员的志愿工作。

KATIE’S STORY

A story of a young person who had been in foster care for a long time, and then at 18 she was sofa surfing. She is now engaged with many activities with 1625ip, and enjoys living in a shared house.

 

When I first came to 1625 Independent People (1625ip) I’d left foster care 6 months previously, and had moved back in with my mum. However, the living situation with my mum really wasn’t working. We had so many challenges as I had been in foster care for a long time. I had started sofa surfing at a friend’s place and so a friend advised me to go to Youth MAPS. I went there and they asked me about my situation and then explained my options to me. After this I got a call from the hostel a 1625ip, who told me that they had a space for me there. I was so relieved, as I needed the space, and I wanted to stop relying on other people as I had to when I was sofa surfing.

I had my own room at the hostel, and I was grateful to not be on the streets or sofa surfing still, but it was tough sometimes. I did have some motivation and ideas about what I wanted to do, but honestly it was difficult settling into the environment and I didn’t feel confident about my future.

After a couple of months I was able to move into a shared house with 1625ip, and this is where I am now. When I moved into a shared house I got really involved in the activities and services at 1625ip. I was really motivated to get things done, and always made sure I was on time for meetings. I became part of the Youth Board, where we discuss ways of improving the service for young people. I have learnt some cooking skills in the Skills Kitchen, and go to the drama and arts sessions which help me improve my confidence, and are really fun to do! I am getting some qualifications too – I’ve just done my Level 3 for Maths, I did the Creative Leaders communications and media course, I’ve done my Emergency First Aid which I find really interesting.

In my current house I like the kitchen as I can practice my cooking skills, and having the space to keep it clean and organised. I love the independence that it gives me, and I enjoy making a ‘homely’ house with the others that live there.

In the future I’d like to have a job as a support worker – people tell me I’d be good at it! I’d like to in particular work in LGBTQ communities. I’d also love to have a family and my own place one day, but for now, I am happy. I’m really enjoying the engagement activities with 1625ip, and volunteering as part of the Youth Board.