珍妮的故事

一个支持脱离照顾者的故事,一个有复杂精神健康问题的年轻人

简是一名19岁的脱离照料者,有复杂的精神健康问题。从13岁开始,Jane就受到了地方当局的照顾。她得到了CAHMS的高度支持,并被认为有新出现的边缘型人格障碍。简经常自我伤害,在危机中,她不止一次地试图自杀。从16岁开始,Jane被安置在一个独立的住宅区,并得到24小时的照顾。当简18岁时,她发现向成人精神健康服务的过渡特别具有挑战性,因此她脱离了。这时,她从社会服务机构和她的住宅护理提供者那里得到的支持水平也急剧下降。正是在这个阶段,简被推荐到1625ip,作为高支持性公寓的候选人,以促进她积极地走向独立生活。

她描述了高度焦虑的感觉,这阻碍了她应对日常情况的能力,如赶公交车、参加社交活动或赴约。Jane无法有效地管理她的心理健康,导致她感到害怕孤独,即使是短时间的孤独。因此,她在很大程度上依赖她的男友来充当照顾者。这给他们的关系带来了巨大的压力,这导致了控制权的问题,以及对拒绝的恐惧。这也意味着Jane经常觉得有必要和她的男朋友在县城以外的地方呆在一起,并且无法参加支持会议。

当我们第一次见到Jane时,她的出勤率很低,而且她在应付提交文件的最后期限方面很吃力。Jane也有冲动行事的倾向,这经常使她陷入经济困难,她在预算方面很吃力。

1625ip的支持工作者与Jane会面,评估她的需求并制定支持计划。目标和任务包括:建立一个支持性的关系,让她觉得可以安全地进行沟通和寻求帮助,并协助她搬入目前的公寓。陪同简购买公寓的基本物品,并向她解释她作为一个受尊重的租户的责任。她的支持工作者帮助她设置了水电,更改了她的银行和福利的地址,重要的是,包括帮助她融入当地社区,让她熟悉当地的环境和设施。简得到了支持,以帮助她维持她的大学实习--这包括与大学导师联系,安排会议讨论延长课程作业的最后期限,以及提供专门的帮助来帮助简的学习。支持人员的目的是使Jane能够自己获得服务,这包括参加医生预约、心理健康预约和与社会工作者的会面。

与1625ip合作,帮助Jane增强了信心,并更好地了解自己。她正在掌握自己的心理健康,并制定了一个健康的生活习惯,其中包括定期吃饭、睡觉和运动。简已经意识到使她陷入危机的诱因,她正在发展她的自助技术,以管理情绪波动。简目前正在与她的支持工作者合作,寻找一个合适的教育、就业和培训的位置,但她是有选择的,以确保她不会被设定为失败,并能够在她的位置上维持和成功。

JANE’S STORY

A story of supporting a care leaver, a young person with complex mental health issues

Jane is a 19-year-old care leaver with a complex history of mental health issues. From the age of 13, Jane has been under the care of the Local Authority. She received a high level of support from CAHMS and was considered to have Emerging Borderline Personality Disorder. Jane frequently self-harmed and, while in crisis, she attempted suicide on more than one occasion. From the age of 16, Jane was placed in an independent residential property and provided with a 24-hour care package. When Jane turned 18, she found the transition to Adult Mental Health Services particularly challenging and she therefore disengaged. This coincided with a dramatic reduction in the level of support she received from social services and her residential care provider. It was at this stage that Jane was referred to 1625ip as a candidate for the high support flats in order to promote a positive move on to independent living.

Janes lack of support around her mental health issues have resulted in her developing her own coping strategies – these are not always very well considered or appropriate.Jane can quickly become overwhelmed, tired, and despondent and unable to cope with simple tasks.She describes feelings of high anxiety, which hinder her from being able to cope with everyday situations such as catching buses, attending social events or attending appointments.Jane’s inability to manage her mental health effectively has resulted in her feeling scared of being alone, even for short periods. Consequently, she relies heavily on her boyfriend to act as a caregiver. This has put intense pressure on their relationship, which is resulting in issues of control, and fear of rejection.It also means that Jane frequently feels the need to stay with her boyfriend out of county boundaries and is unavailable for support sessions.

Janes’ mental health has been a barrier to her sustaining her college course.When we first met Jane, her attendance was poor, and she was struggling to cope with submission deadlines.Jane also had a tendency to act on impulse and this often put her in financial difficulties and she struggled to budget.

The 1625ip support worker met with Jane to assess her needs and develop a support plan. The goals and tasks included things such as; building a supportive relationship in which she feels safe to communicate and ask for help and assisting with move on into her current flat. Jane was accompanied to purchase essential items for the flat and her responsibilities as a respectful tenant was explained to her. Her support worker helped her to set up her utilities, change her address with her bank and benefits, and importantly, included helping her to integrate into the local community, familiarising her with her local surroundings and facilities. Jane was provided with support to help her to sustain her college placement – this involved liaising with college tutors and arranging meetings to discuss extensions to coursework deadlines and the provision of specialised help to assist Janes learning. The aim of the support worker was to enable and empower Jane to access services herself, this included attending doctors’ appointments, mental health appointments and meetings with her social worker.

Working with 1625ip has helped Jane to grow in confidence and better understand herself. She is taking charge of her own mental health and developing a healthy routine, which involves regular meals, sleep and exercise. Jane has become aware of the triggers that send her into crises and she is developing her self-help techniques to manage the emotional turmoil.Jane is currently working with her support worker to look for an appropriate education, employment and training, placement, but is being selective to ensure that she is not set up to fail and able to sustain and succeed in her placement.Jane continues to grow in her independence, is having less crisis, is getting the support for her mental health that she needs and maintaining her college course.