詹姆斯的故事

为什么詹姆斯需要1625ip的支持?

当詹姆斯开始与他的支持工作者一起工作时,他最近从一个宿舍搬到他自己的住房协会公寓。他因孤立感而产生焦虑,因为他与家人的联系很少。虽然詹姆斯有一个亲密的朋友,但他住在一个小时的公交车上,而且福利问题使他们无法在一起生活。他的焦虑因刚到这个地区而加剧。

1625ip的服务如何帮助詹姆斯更加独立?

詹姆斯与他的支持工作者建立了健康、信任的关系,使他能够说出自己的担忧并开始克服自己的焦虑。

通过1625ip,詹姆斯已经能够参加一个脱离护理人员的聚会,在那里他可以看到他的朋友并与同龄人进行社交。当他的福利被更新并转移到通用信贷系统时,他感到非常欣慰。一段时间后,他对独立完成这一过程表现出更大的信心,尽管他最初对乘坐公交车和独自参加就业中心的预约有所保留。

为了支持詹姆斯的信心发展并帮助他学会管理自己的焦虑,他被转介到1625ip内部的指导服务。他喜欢与他的社区导师见面,因为他们有共同的兴趣,使他们建立了有意义的联系。此外,在导师的支持和鼓励下,詹姆斯能够探索他所在的地区并参加活动。

詹姆斯现在有什么打算?

詹姆斯表示有兴趣在未来加入警察部队或在零售业建立一个职业。他还在考虑进一步的教育,因为他已经完成了他的AQA。在他的支持工作者和他的导师(从事招聘顾问工作)的帮助下,他正在采取步骤申请工作。

JAMES’ STORY

Why did James need support from 1625ip?

When James started working with his support worker, he had recently moved from a hostel into his own housing association flat. He was suffering from anxiety stemming from feelings of isolation, as he had little contact with his family. Although James has a close friend, he lives an hour away by bus and benefit complications prevented them from spending time together. His anxieties were exacerbated by being new to the area.

How did 1625ip services help James be more independent?

James established a healthy, trusting relationship with his support worker, enabling him to voice his worries and start to overcome his anxiety.

Through 1625ip, James has been able to attend a care-leavers drop-in, where he can see his friend and socialise with peers. Big relief came when his benefits were updated and transferred to the Universal Credit system. After a while, he displayed improved confidence in completing this process independently, despite his initial reservations relating to taking the bus and attending the appointment at the job centre alone.

In order to support the development of James’s confidence and help him learn to manage his anxiety, he was referred to a mentoring service within 1625ip. He enjoys meeting with his community mentor as they have shared interests that have allowed them to develop a meaningful bond. Moreover, with his mentor’s support and encouragement, James is able explore his local area and participate in activities.

What’s in store for James now?

James has stated interest in joining the police force in future or establishing a career in retail. He is also considering further education, having already completed his AQAs. Together with his support worker and his mentor, who works as a recruitment consultant, he is taking steps towards applying for jobs.